Undergraduate · Brown University

Brown Computer Engineering: hardware, networks and the software that runs them

Brown has no set core, and most undergraduates sample subjects before choosing one of 80-plus concentrations. Computer Engineering is a concentration the Bulletin describes as designing hardware from chips to servers and the network systems and devices around them, with proficiency in both electrical engineering and computer science. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to the concentration.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Brown says about Brown Computer Engineering

Taken from the Brown Bulletin entry for the Computer Engineering concentration and Brown's Open Curriculum, Standardized Tests and international Admission Criteria pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Brown's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A concentration chosen in the Open Curriculum

Brown says undergraduates sample courses before choosing one of 80-plus concentrations, and there is no required core. The pages read describe no separate application to Computer Engineering.

Chips to servers

Hardware, networks and smart digital devices.

Both electrical engineering and computer science

The Bulletin says computer engineers are proficient in both.

21 credits

The Bulletin lists a standard programme.

The SAT or ACT is required

Brown requires scores for first-year applicants and sets no minimum score; international applicants should plan to sit A levels or the IB and submit predicted or actual scores.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Brown Bulletin entry for the Computer Engineering concentration and Brown's Open Curriculum, Standardized Tests and international Admission Criteria pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Brown's department website, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The concentration

What the Bulletin says the concentration is

The Bulletin says computer engineers design computer hardware from chips to servers, communication and network systems and smart digital devices, and also write the software that runs them. They work at the forefront of cybersecurity, machine intelligence, networking, embedded systems and robotics, and are proficient in both electrical engineering and computer science. The standard programme is 21 credits. This guide does not list individual courses.

Is it the right concentration?

Computer Engineering beside Computer Science and other engineering

Brown lists these concentrations separately, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

This concentration fits if

you want hardware and software together.

Computer Science fits if

you want computing as the main subject, which Brown lists separately.

Design Engineering fits if

you want design thinking. Avandy's Brown Design Engineering guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Brown application, an SAT or ACT and A levels or the IB

Brown has returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores for first-year applicants and says there are no minimum scores. International applicants should plan to sit national and international examinations such as the GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores, with actual scores expected before matriculation. The concentration is not a separate application. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Brown's.

Do chips and networks interest you as much as software?

The concentration spans both.

Are electrical engineering topics acceptable?

The Bulletin says computer engineers are proficient in electrical engineering.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Brown requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Brown's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Brown's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Brown has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Brown for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Computer Engineering entry in the Brown Bulletin and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Brown University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Brown University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Brown Computer Engineering?

The pages read describe admission to Brown. Students develop a personalised course of study and choose a concentration in the Open Curriculum.

Does it include software?

The Bulletin says computer engineers also write the software to run these systems.

How many credits?

The Bulletin lists 21.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Brown says it has returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores for first-year applicants, with no minimum score.

Do A levels and the IB count?

Brown tells international applicants to plan to sit examinations such as the GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Brown's wording with no entry-year label. Check Brown's pages again when Brown publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Brown Computer Engineering

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics and physics, how they weigh hardware against software and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.