Undergraduate · Brown

Brown International and Public Affairs: three tracks inside an open curriculum

Brown admits students to an open curriculum, not to International and Public Affairs. The Bulletin describes the concentration as an 11-course route to becoming an engaged global citizen, with three tracks (Development, Policy & Governance, and Security), a required junior seminar and a senior capstone. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are what the concentration contains, how it differs from a UK International Relations degree and what Brown asks at admission. This guide claims no separate application to the concentration.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Brown says about Brown International and Public Affairs

Taken from Brown University's Open Curriculum page, the Brown Bulletin's International and Public Affairs concentration page and Brown's Standardized Tests and International Applicants pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Brown's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A concentration within the open curriculum

Brown says most students sample courses before choosing one of 80-plus concentrations, with no set core courses.

Three tracks

Development, Policy & Governance, and Security, with five electives in the chosen track.

Eleven courses

The concentration comprises 11 courses, or 12 for an honours degree, including a junior seminar and a senior capstone.

Methods courses, with a language option

A high-level language course can substitute for one of the two methods courses.

SAT or ACT, no minimum

Brown returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores from the 2024-25 cycle and sets no minimum.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Brown University's Open Curriculum page, the Brown Bulletin's International and Public Affairs concentration page and Brown's Standardized Tests and International Applicants pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Brown's course catalogue entries, the Watson Institute pages, the pre-approved elective lists, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The concentration

What the Bulletin says it contains

The Bulletin describes a common core of five classes: a thematic gateway course, a foundational course for the chosen track, a required junior seminar, and a senior seminar that can be replaced by an honours thesis. Students then choose one of three tracks and take five electives from a pre-approved list, plus qualitative and quantitative methods courses. The senior capstone is typically a 20-25 page research paper or extended policy brief. This guide did not read the elective lists.

Is it the right concentration?

International and Public Affairs or a single discipline

Brown describes each as separate, so the choice comes after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

International and Public Affairs fits if

you want a multidisciplinary route with a track focus and a capstone.

A single discipline fits if

you prefer depth in politics, economics or another subject.

A UK IR degree fits if

you already know the subject: UK courses admit you to it; Brown admits you to the university.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT, no minimum, and A-levels and the IB named

Brown says it returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores for first-year applicants from the 2024-25 cycle, with no minimum score. International applicants should plan to sit national and international examinations such as GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Brown's.

Which track draws you?

Development, Policy & Governance and Security are different kinds of study.

Are you comfortable choosing a concentration later?

Brown's students sample courses first.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Brown requires one of them.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Brown's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Brown's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Brown has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Brown for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Bulletin's concentration page and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Brown University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Brown University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Brown International and Public Affairs?

The pages read describe admission to Brown's open curriculum, where students choose a concentration later.

What are the tracks?

Development, Policy & Governance, and Security.

How many courses does it need?

The Bulletin says 11 courses, or 12 for an honours degree.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Brown requires SAT or ACT scores from the 2024-25 cycle and sets no minimum score.

Does Brown mention A levels or the IB?

Yes. International applicants should plan to sit exams such as GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Brown's wording with no entry-year label. Check Brown's pages again when Brown publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Brown International and Public Affairs

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their interest in global issues, the track they might choose and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.