Undergraduate · Brown University

Brown Modern Culture and Media: a theory route, a practice route and eleven courses each

Brown does not admit applicants to Modern Culture and Media. They apply to the university and choose a concentration within the Open Curriculum. The Bulletin describes an interdisciplinary concentration that sits across film and media studies, fine art, literature, literary arts and philosophy, with two routes of eleven courses: Theory Based, where production is encouraged but optional, and Practice Based, which combines production courses with critical study.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Brown says about Brown Modern Culture and Media

Taken from the Brown Bulletin entry for the Modern Culture and Media concentration and Brown's Open Curriculum, Standardized Tests and international Admission Criteria pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Brown's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A concentration chosen in the Open Curriculum

Brown says undergraduates sample courses before choosing one of 80-plus concentrations, and there is no required core. The pages read describe no separate application to Modern Culture and Media.

Two routes

Theory Based and Practice Based each consist of eleven courses.

Production is optional on the theory route

Work in production is encouraged but not required for Theory Based concentrators.

A cross-departmental field

It joins film, fine art, literature, literary arts and philosophy.

The SAT or ACT is required

Brown requires scores for first-year applicants and sets no minimum score; international applicants should plan to sit A levels or the IB and submit predicted or actual scores.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Brown Bulletin entry for the Modern Culture and Media concentration and Brown's Open Curriculum, Standardized Tests and international Admission Criteria pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Brown's department website, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The concentration

What the Bulletin says the MCM concentration is

The Bulletin says the concentration stresses creative thinking and critical production: comparative analysis and theoretical reflection, as well as work that integrates practice and theory. Theory Based concentrators take MCM 0150 plus two further core courses and additional courses including upper-level work and two senior seminars, with at least three courses in an advisor-approved focus area. Practice Based concentrators take production-oriented courses alongside the critical core. Both routes total eleven credits.

Is it the right concentration?

MCM beside Science, Technology, and Society and Cognitive Science

Brown lists these concentrations separately, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

MCM fits if

you want media and culture studied critically and, on the practice route, made as well.

Science, Technology, and Society fits if

you want science and technology as the subject. Avandy's Brown Science, Technology, and Society guide covers it.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want the mind across fields. Avandy's Brown Cognitive Science guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Brown application, an SAT or ACT and A levels or the IB

Brown has returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores for first-year applicants and says there are no minimum scores. International applicants should plan to sit national and international examinations such as the GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores, with actual scores expected before matriculation. The concentration is not a separate application. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Brown's.

Theory or practice?

The Bulletin lists two routes with different course patterns.

Which media would you focus on?

At least three courses must be in an advisor-approved focus area.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Brown requires scores for first-year applicants and sets no minimum score.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Brown's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Brown's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Brown has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Brown for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Modern Culture and Media entry in the Brown Bulletin and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Brown University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Brown University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Brown Modern Culture and Media?

The pages read describe admission to Brown. Students develop a personalised course of study and choose a concentration in the Open Curriculum.

Do I have to make media as well as study it?

Not on the Theory Based route, where the Bulletin says production is encouraged but not required. The Practice Based route combines production courses with critical study.

How many courses does MCM need?

Both routes consist of eleven courses.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Brown says it has returned to requiring SAT or ACT scores for first-year applicants, with no minimum score.

Do A levels and the IB count?

Brown tells international applicants to plan to sit examinations such as the GCE A-levels and the IB and submit predicted or actual scores.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Brown's wording with no entry-year label. Check Brown's pages again when Brown publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Brown Modern Culture and Media

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether they prefer the theory-based or practice-based route, which media they want to work in and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.