A prompted statement
The statement runs to 1,000 to 1,500 words and names a major field.
Doctoral · Brown Political science
The Brown Political Science PhD asks for a personal statement of 1,000 to 1,500 words that names a major field, American politics, comparative politics, international relations or political theory, and a written sample of up to 30 pages. After admission the programme at a glance sets twelve courses by the end of the second year, two of four pro-seminars, a methods sequence that depends on the chosen subfield and a year-long prospectus seminar in the third year.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Brown Department of Political Science graduate admission and program-at-a-glance pages and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Brown's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The statement runs to 1,000 to 1,500 words and names a major field.
It is usually a thesis chapter or a longer essay and is best chosen near the research area.
Students take pro-seminars and a methods sequence set by their subfield.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Brown Department of Political Science graduate admission and program-at-a-glance pages, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Brown research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you can name a major field, describe your research training and supply a strong sample of up to 30 pages.
you plan a generic statement. The page asks for specific parts and a named subfield.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The admission page asks for a personal statement of 1,000 to 1,500 words covering reasons for graduate work in a chosen subfield, past study and research and plans at Brown, a written sample of no more than 30 pages, and TOEFL or IELTS for applicants whose native language is not English. The pages read do not state a GRE rule. This guide states no deadline or funding term.
How the programme runs
First-year students register for six courses, with seven recommended. Students take two of four pro-seminars in the first two years and complete twelve courses by the end of the second year. Methods requirements differ between the empirical subfields and political theory. Third-year students take a year-long prospectus seminar and a professionalisation seminar. A minimum grade of B is required in each course for full credit. This page carries no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Brown rules and carry no probability.
The page strongly encourages, but does not require, work in the research area.
Empirical subfields take the quantitative sequence; theory students take one methods course.
A minimum B is required in each course for full department credit.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Brown's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Brown has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Brown's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Brown has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Brown publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Brown University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
Applicants provide a personal statement of 1000-1500 words.
The pages read state no GRE rule; they ask for TOEFL or IELTS from applicants whose native language is not English. Check the Graduate School site for the cycle you apply in.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Brown's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.