A*A*A, or 41-42 IB points with 776
The minimum offer is A*A*A at A level, or 41-42 points with 776 at Higher Level in the IB. For IB Higher Level Mathematics, Cambridge asks for Analysis and Approaches.
Undergraduate · Cambridge Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology
Cambridge's Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology is a specialised degree that is separate from general Engineering and from Natural Sciences. It requires Mathematics, Chemistry and a third science, an ESAT taken at an authorised centre, and several Colleges specify where the A* must fall. This guide is written for families planning 2028 entry. Everything cycle-specific in it was last verified for 2027 entry, so treat it as the best guide to preparation and not as the 2028 requirement.
Official information · last verified for 2027 entry
Taken from Cambridge's official Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology course page and read on 25 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Cambridge's 2028-entry requirements are awaiting publication.
The minimum offer is A*A*A at A level, or 41-42 points with 776 at Higher Level in the IB. For IB Higher Level Mathematics, Cambridge asks for Analysis and Approaches.
Applicants need Mathematics, Chemistry and a third science or mathematics subject: Biology, Physics or Further Mathematics. Cambridge's page says most students who started in 2018, 2019 and 2023 also took Further Mathematics (78%) and/or Physics (86%).
All applicants are required to take the Engineering and Science Admissions Test (ESAT) at an authorised assessment centre, and must register in advance.
Cambridge says you won't usually be asked to submit examples of written work.
The UCAS code is H810. The course is a 3-year BA (Hons) or a 4-year MEng, and most students continue to the fourth year.
Official sources
Read on 25 October 2026 on Cambridge's Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology course page, which describes entry in 2027 or deferred entry in 2028. The 2025 applicant numbers and the 2018, 2019 and 2023 subject profile are history, not a requirement. The ESAT modules for this course are not stated on the page read. College-level requirements were not read.
The course
Cambridge's course combines fundamental scientific topics such as cell biology, materials science and engineering principles with chemical engineering and biotechnology principles. In Year 1 students study Chemistry and Mathematics from Part IA of Natural Sciences, so the science foundation is shared with that course. In Year 3 students study process design and work in a team to design a plant making a particular chemical or biological product, considering equipment, control, safety, environmental impact and economics. It is possible to graduate with a BA after three years, and most students continue to the fourth year. Cambridge says students are mostly taught through lectures supported by projects, laboratory classes and supervisions, with around 10 lectures and 2 or 3 supervisions in a typical week.
Reading the offer
The subject rule is specific and the College layer adds to it.
Mathematics, Chemistry and a third science or mathematics subject: Biology, Physics or Further Mathematics. If your third science is not on the list, Cambridge says to contact the College for advice.
Cambridge asks for Analysis and Approaches at Higher Level for this course. If that is not available at your school, contact the College for advice.
Some Colleges usually set offers at the minimum level. Others specify which subjects an A* needs to be achieved in for most or all offers, generally one or two from Chemistry, Mathematics or Further Mathematics. Check your shortlisted Colleges before choosing.
Cambridge says all students who started in 2018, 2019 and 2023 had studied Chemistry and Mathematics, with 78% also taking Further Mathematics and 86% Physics. That describes past cohorts and is not a requirement.
The ESAT
Cambridge says all applicants for the course are required to take the ESAT at an authorised assessment centre, and that you must register in advance. The page read for this guide points to Cambridge's admissions test page for the details and does not list the modules for this course, so check that page before booking. The ESAT's sittings and booking windows change each cycle and are not stated here.
Written work
Cambridge says you won't usually be asked to submit examples of written work. The assessment and any further arrangements are set by the Colleges, so read the College pages for those you shortlist.
Context
Cambridge's page shows 7 applications per place and 77 accepted for the 2025 cycle. Those are historical figures about a past cohort. They are not a requirement and they do not predict any individual result.
Planning for 2028 entry
Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Cambridge has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Cambridge published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Cambridge has not yet published it.
These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cambridge has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.
Check Cambridge's course page and admissions test page for the 2028-entry values when they appear.
Plan Mathematics and Chemistry with a third science, decide whether Further Mathematics is realistic, and check your shortlisted Colleges' A* rules.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Cambridge or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each programme. No outcome is promised.
Questions
A*A*A at A level, or 41-42 IB points with 776 at Higher Level, with Mathematics, Chemistry and a third science or mathematics subject. This is Cambridge's wording for entry in 2027.
Biology, Physics or Further Mathematics. If you study another science, Cambridge says to contact the College for advice.
Yes. All applicants are required to take the ESAT at an authorised assessment centre and must register in advance.
Cambridge says you won't usually be asked to submit examples of written work.
Cambridge asks for Analysis and Approaches at Higher Level for this course.
No. They are Cambridge's wording for entry in 2027. Check the course page again when Cambridge publishes its 2028-entry requirements.
Students and families
Tell us about the student's curriculum, their sciences and mathematics, the Colleges of interest, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.