Undergraduate · Cornell

Cornell's College of Arts & Sciences: broad entry, major by sophomore year

Cornell asks applicants to apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, and the College of Arts & Sciences (A&S) is the largest and broadest. Its admissions page describes more than 40 majors across the humanities, sciences and social sciences, lets applicants name up to two areas of interest and does not require a major to be declared until the end of sophomore year. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are whether A&S is the right college, what units of preparation it lists and what Cornell requires, including the SAT or ACT. This guide makes no claim about admission to any major.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Arts & Sciences

Taken from Cornell Admissions' First-Year Arts & Sciences Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Apply to a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools; A&S is the largest and most academically diverse.

40+ majors, declared by sophomore year

Applicants select up to two areas of interest but need not declare a major until the end of sophomore year.

Preparation in units

4 units of English, 3 of mathematics including pre-calculus, 3 of science and 3 of one foreign language.

English proficiency applies to all

Cornell says all students must have a strong command of English, shown by one of several methods.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Cornell Admissions' First-Year Arts & Sciences Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Cornell's major pages, the Arts & Sciences curriculum detail, the English proficiency method list, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The college

What Cornell says A&S is

Cornell describes A&S as the largest and most academically diverse college, with an innovative curriculum and requirements that offer flexibility, and more than 40 major options. Applicants select up to two areas of interest, and the college says much coursework happens outside the major and many students double major. The college asks for a rigorous high school curriculum and a strong record of academic achievement, with the unit lists above. This guide did not read the major pages.

Which college?

A&S or a more specific Cornell college

Cornell asks you to choose a college, so the choice is made when applying. Avandy's comparison is general.

A&S fits if

you want breadth and the freedom to choose a major by sophomore year.

CALS, Human Ecology, Brooks or a business school fit if

you know the field. Avandy has separate Cornell guides for several of them.

Engineering or Architecture fit if

you are certain of that discipline. Avandy's Cornell Duffield and AAP guides cover them.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT required; A-levels and the IB are not named

Cornell says it has reinstituted standardized testing, requiring first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The A&S page lists preparation in units and does not name A-levels or the IB. All students must show a strong command of English by one of several methods. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Do you want to decide the major later?

A&S lets you wait until the end of sophomore year.

Do your subjects match the unit lists?

Mathematics, science and a third-level foreign language are all listed.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Cornell requires one of them.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Compare Cornell's college pages and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Do I apply to Cornell or to a college?

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools.

When must I declare a major in A&S?

Cornell says not until the end of sophomore year.

How many majors does A&S have?

More than 40 major options across the humanities, sciences and social sciences.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does the A&S page mention A levels or the IB?

No. It lists preparation in units and does not name them.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Arts & Sciences

Tell us about the student's curriculum, which Cornell college suits them, how broad they want their degree to be and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.