Undergraduate · Cornell

Cornell CALS: you apply directly to a major

Cornell's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences differs from a college where the major comes later: its admissions page says applicants apply directly to one of 20+ majors and, if admitted, jump into that major. The page also names GCSE/A-Level among the curriculum types it reviews in context, lists units of preparation with biology and chemistry required, and notes which majors require calculus. For an A-level or IB applicant, the decision is which CALS major to apply to and whether science and mathematics preparation matches it. This guide makes no claim about odds.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell CALS

Taken from Cornell Admissions' First-Year CALS Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Apply directly to a major

CALS applicants apply to one of 20+ majors; if admitted, they go straight into it, though the experience stays flexible.

GCSE/A-Level named

CALS says it evaluates preparation in the context of the applicant's educational environment, naming IB and GCSE/A-Level.

Biology and chemistry required

4 units of English, 4 of mathematics with pre-calculus required, 3 of science with biology and chemistry required.

Calculus for some majors

Calculus is required for majors including Biological Sciences, Biological Engineering, Information Science and Statistics & Biometry.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Cornell Admissions' First-Year CALS Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Cornell's CALS major pages, the full major list, the English proficiency method list, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The college

What CALS says its admission works like

CALS describes purpose-driven science across 20+ majors, from community and rural development to applied economics, food and nutrition, agriculture and life sciences. Unlike a college where the major is chosen later, applicants apply directly to one major and, if admitted, jump into it, while the college stresses flexible, cross-disciplinary coursework. It says it is normal to struggle to select one major and suggests thinking about which classes and activities you enjoy. This guide did not read the major pages.

Is it the right college?

CALS or a more general Cornell college

Cornell asks you to choose a college and, at CALS, a major. Avandy's comparison is general.

CALS fits if

you can name a major in the life, agricultural, environmental or social sciences.

Arts & Sciences fits if

you want to decide a major later. Avandy's Cornell Arts & Sciences guide covers that.

Another college fits if

your interest is engineering, human ecology or business. Avandy has separate Cornell guides.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT required, and GCSE/A-Level context

Cornell says it has reinstituted standardized testing, requiring first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. CALS evaluates academic preparation within the context of the applicant's educational environment, including curriculum types such as IB and GCSE/A-Level. All students must show a strong command of English by one of several methods. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Which CALS major would you apply to?

Applicants apply directly to one major.

Does your mathematics match the major?

Some majors require calculus.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Cornell requires one of them.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Choose a CALS major to explore and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Do I apply to a CALS major directly?

Yes. CALS says applicants apply directly to one of its 20+ majors.

Does CALS mention A levels?

Yes. It names GCSE/A-Level among the curriculum types it evaluates in context.

Which sciences are required?

The page lists 3 units of science with biology and chemistry required, and physics strongly recommended.

Is calculus required?

Pre-calculus is required, and calculus is required for some majors such as Biological Sciences.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell CALS

Tell us about the student's curriculum, which CALS major fits, their science and mathematics and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.