Undergraduate · Cornell

Cornell's Dyson School: a business-and-economics route inside SC Johnson

Cornell's SC Johnson College of Business houses two schools, and applicants must choose between the Applied Economics and Management major in the Dyson School and the Hotel Administration major in the Nolan School. The Dyson page describes a rigorous, industry-focused curriculum, lists 16 units with calculus required if offered at your school, and requires a resume. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are Dyson or Nolan, how mathematics preparation is judged and what Cornell requires, including the SAT or ACT. This guide makes no claim about odds.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Dyson School

Taken from Cornell Admissions' First-Year SC Johnson College of Business Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Dyson or Nolan, not both

Applicants must choose to apply to either the Applied Economics and Management major in Dyson or the Hotel Administration major in Nolan.

Calculus if your school offers it

Dyson requires calculus if offered at your school, and prefers advanced mathematics in grade 12 to AP Statistics.

Chemistry and biology required

Dyson requires one unit each of chemistry and biology within the 3 units of science.

A resume

SC Johnson College applicants must submit a resume with their application.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Cornell Admissions' First-Year SC Johnson College of Business Applicants, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Cornell's Dyson School curriculum pages, the Applied Economics and Management major requirements, the English proficiency method list, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The school

What the SC Johnson page says Dyson is

The page presents Dyson alongside Nolan as an industry-focused route to business leadership, with real-world scenarios in the classroom. A Dyson student, it says, might want to solve economic and business challenges, connect business principles with industries like food and agriculture, help small businesses grow in developing countries or work in marketing, analytics, finance or investment banking. Applicants answer a college prompt about the kind of business student they are, shaped to their school. This guide did not read the Dyson curriculum pages.

Is it the right school?

Dyson, Nolan or Arts & Sciences

Cornell asks you to choose, so the choice is made when applying. Avandy's comparison is general.

Dyson fits if

you want applied economics and management with quantitative work, including calculus.

Nolan fits if

your interest is hospitality management. Avandy's Cornell Nolan guide covers it.

Arts & Sciences fits if

you would rather study economics inside a liberal arts college. Avandy's Cornell Arts & Sciences guide covers it.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT required; A-levels and the IB are not named

Cornell says it has reinstituted standardized testing, requiring first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The Dyson page lists 16 units, with calculus required if offered and chemistry and biology required, and does not name A-levels or the IB. A resume is part of the SC Johnson application. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Are you applying to Dyson or Nolan?

Cornell asks you to choose one.

Does your mathematics include calculus where offered?

Dyson requires it if your school offers it.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT and a resume?

Both are part of the application.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Decide between Dyson and Nolan, check calculus availability and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply to both Dyson and Nolan?

Cornell says you must choose to apply to either the Applied Economics and Management major in Dyson or the Hotel Administration major in Nolan.

Is calculus required?

Dyson requires calculus if it is offered at your school.

Do I need a resume?

Yes. SC Johnson College applicants must submit a resume as part of their application.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does the page name A-levels or the IB?

No. It lists units of preparation.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Dyson School

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics, why Dyson rather than Nolan or Arts & Sciences and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.