Undergraduate · Cornell Duffield Engineering

Cornell Operations Research and Engineering: decisions from data and mathematical models

Cornell applicants apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, and Operations Research and Engineering (ORE) is a major in Cornell Duffield Engineering, taught by the School of Operations Research and Information Engineering. The school describes mathematical modelling that produces decision-making tools for industries from transport to healthcare. This guide sets out what the pages say.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Operations Research and Engineering

Taken from the School of Operations Research and Information Engineering's website, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Operations Research and Engineering under Duffield Engineering.

An engineering-college major

Cornell Admissions lists it under Duffield Engineering.

Decision tools

The school describes modelling that helps with transport, healthcare and business operations.

Optimising complex systems

Data and mathematical models are the tools.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the School of Operations Research and Information Engineering's website, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The major's curriculum pages, course descriptions, college admission requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the college and department pages say the major is

The school's website says mathematical modelling develops essential decision-making tools for a wide range of industries, whether devising more effective transportation systems, improving healthcare outcomes or streamlining business operations, and describes the field as optimising complex systems using data and mathematical models, ideal for those interested in logistics, decision-making and improving processes. It is part of the Cornell Duffield College of Engineering. This guide does not describe the curriculum, which it did not read.

Is it the right major?

ORE beside Information Science and Engineering Physics

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

ORE fits if

you want mathematics applied to decisions and systems.

Information Science, Systems, and Technology fits if

you want information systems. Avandy's Cornell ISST guide covers it.

Engineering Physics fits if

you want physics in an engineering context. Avandy's Cornell Engineering Physics guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A college application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application; the pages read list Operations Research and Engineering under Duffield Engineering. Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Do logistics, health systems and operations interest you?

They are the school's examples.

Is a Duffield Engineering application right for you?

The major is listed there.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Operations Research and Engineering in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Duffield Engineering.

Which college is ORE in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Duffield Engineering.

Is mathematics central?

The school describes mathematical modelling as its basis.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Operations Research and Engineering

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics, how they weigh operations research against computer science and statistics and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.