Doctoral · Cornell Computer science

Cornell Computer Science PhD: name your areas and faculty, and write two statements

The Cornell Computer Science PhD admissions page asks applicants to say which research areas they are excited about and which faculty they might work with, and to write a separate personal statement of up to 1,000 words. It requires two letters of recommendation, allows up to four, treats a writing sample as optional, and says advisor assignments are made after admission, so naming faculty is about fit, not a binding choice.

Official information · no entry-year label on the page

What Cornell asks for in Cornell Computer Science PhD

Taken from the Cornell Department of Computer Science PhD admissions page and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Cornell's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.

Name areas and faculty

The Statement of Purpose names research areas and faculty of interest.

A separate personal statement

It runs to 1,000 words on background and experiences.

Advisers are assigned after admission

The page says advisor assignments are made post-admission.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Cornell Department of Computer Science PhD admissions page, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.

The decision

Does your record fit what the programme page asks?

This guide concerns only the Cornell research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.

It fits if

you can describe specific research areas, identify faculty whose work matches and write a personal statement within 1,000 words.

Think again if

you plan to rely on a pre-arranged adviser. The page says advisor assignments are made after admission.

Check the page

The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.

How the application is read

What the programme page lists

The page lists two required letters of recommendation (three to four allowed), a Statement of Purpose, a personal statement of up to 1,000 words, scanned transcripts and an English language proficiency requirement for international applicants. A writing sample is optional. It says the department accepts applications for the Fall semester only. This guide states no deadline or funding term.

How the programme runs

Focus and working pattern

The page describes a Fall-only intake and says advisor assignments are made after admission, giving admitted students a chance to engage with faculty whose research complements theirs. Applicants are asked to identify faculty whose work aligns with their goals so the committee can assess fit and mentorship capacity. These pages carry no entry-year label.

Avandy's judgment

Where an application can go wrong

These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Cornell rules and carry no probability.

Naming no faculty

The page asks applicants to identify faculty whose work aligns with their goals.

Merging the two statements

The Statement of Purpose and the 1,000-word personal statement are separate.

Treating the writing sample as required

The page says it is optional.

Next steps

A sensible order of work

The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.

Check your record

Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.

Prepare the written work

Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.

Plan the tests

Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.

Read the current page

Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Planning for 2028-29 entry

Planning for 2028-29 entry: what carries over and what awaits publication

Cornell's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Cornell has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.

The structure of the programme and the application

The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Cornell's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Cornell has not published the following cycle.

Deadlines, places, funding and fees

This guide states none of them. Cornell publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.

What to do now

Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.

Support

Independent support with the research statement and fit

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What does the Cornell Computer Science PhD ask for?

Applicants are asked to articulate research interests and identify faculty whose work aligns with their goals.

Is a test required?

The page read states an English language proficiency requirement (TOEFL or IELTS) for international applicants and does not state a GRE rule for the PhD in the lines read. Check the page for the cycle you apply in.

Does this guide state a deadline?

No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Does the programme include funding?

This guide did not use Cornell's funding sections and states no funding.

Students and families

Talk to us about the Cornell Computer Science PhD

Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.