GRE strongly encouraged
The page does not call it required, but encourages submission strongly.
Doctoral · Cornell Operations research
The Cornell School of Operations Research and Information Engineering PhD page says submission of GRE scores is strongly encouraged, and that an undergraduate degree in operations research is not needed. It asks for an academic statement of purpose, a personal statement, at least three letters of recommendation with at least two from faculty, unofficial transcripts and, for non-native English speakers, a TOEFL or IELTS score. The page carries no entry-year label.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Cornell School of Operations Research and Information Engineering PhD admission requirements page and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Cornell's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The page does not call it required, but encourages submission strongly.
Students come from engineering, mathematics, computer science, economics and the physical sciences.
The school lists no approved concentration in it, though faculty work in the area.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Cornell School of Operations Research and Information Engineering PhD admission requirements page, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Cornell research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you come from a quantitative background, have some computing experience and can support the application with GRE scores.
you are looking for a financial engineering track. The page says there is no approved concentration.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The page lists an academic statement of purpose, a personal statement, TOEFL or IELTS for applicants whose native language is not English, unofficial transcripts, at least three letters of recommendation with at least two from faculty, and says GRE scores are strongly encouraged. Applications go through the Cornell Graduate School, and the school does not process spring admissions. This guide states no deadline, fee or funding term.
How the programme runs
The page names three concentrations: manufacturing systems engineering, applied probability and statistics, and mathematical programming. Students come from varied quantitative backgrounds and are not expected to be fluent in all of operations research. These pages carry no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Cornell rules and carry no probability.
The page says GRE scores are strongly encouraged; it does not say they are unnecessary.
The page says there is no approved concentration in it.
The school does not process admissions for the spring semester.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Cornell's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Cornell has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Cornell's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Cornell has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Cornell publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
A minimum of three letters of recommendation are required.
The ORIE page says submission of GRE scores is strongly encouraged, which is not the same as required. Foreign nationals whose native language is not English submit a TOEFL or IELTS score.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Cornell's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.