Doctoral · Cornell Psychology

Cornell Psychology PhD: two 1,000-word statements and no clinical training

The Cornell Psychology PhD, formally the Psychological Sciences and Human Development field, tells applicants up front what it does not train: clinical, counselling, school, community or industrial psychology or clinical neuropsychology, and applicants whose primary interests lie there are not admitted. For those it does admit it asks for two statements of up to 1,000 words each, one on research questions and one on personal background, and three letters of recommendation.

Official information · no entry-year label on the page

What Cornell asks for in Cornell Psychology PhD

Taken from the Cornell Department of Psychology page on graduate admissions and requirements for the Psychological Sciences and Human Development PhD and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Cornell's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.

No clinical or counselling training

Applicants with primary interests in those areas are not admitted.

Two statements within 1,000 words

One on research questions and one on personal background and experiences.

A research apprenticeship

The PhD is research-focused and apprentice-styled, designed for five years.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Cornell Department of Psychology page on graduate admissions and requirements for the Psychological Sciences and Human Development PhD, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.

The decision

Does your record fit what the programme page asks?

This guide concerns only the Cornell research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.

It fits if

your interest is cognition, development, neuroscience or social and personality psychology and you can write a research statement within 1,000 words.

Think again if

your aim is clinical practice. The page says the programme does not train in it and does not admit applicants with that primary interest.

Check the page

The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.

How the application is read

What the programme page lists

The page lists three letters of recommendation, a fourth optional, a research statement of up to 1,000 words and a second statement of up to 1,000 words about personal background and experiences. It says applicants apply directly to the Cornell Graduate School. It says applicants are not required to submit GRE scores or the GRE subject test, and lists an English language proficiency requirement (TOEFL or IELTS). This guide states no deadline or funding term.

How the programme runs

Focus and working pattern

The field draws faculty from Psychology, Neurobiology and Behavior, Communication and Philosophy, with four broad areas: cognition, development, neuroscience and social and personality. Student progress is supervised by a primary advisor who chairs a special committee. The curriculum is designed for five years and the median time to complete is 5.5 years. This page carries no entry-year label.

Avandy's judgment

Where an application can go wrong

These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Cornell rules and carry no probability.

Applying with a clinical aim

The page says applicants with primary interests in clinical, counselling or related areas are not admitted.

Writing one generic statement

The page asks for two separate statements of up to 1,000 words.

Ignoring the advisor question

Progress is supervised by a primary advisor, so read faculty interests early.

Next steps

A sensible order of work

The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.

Check your record

Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.

Prepare the written work

Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.

Plan the tests

Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.

Read the current page

Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Planning for 2028-29 entry

Planning for 2028-29 entry: what carries over and what awaits publication

Cornell's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Cornell has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.

The structure of the programme and the application

The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Cornell's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Cornell has not published the following cycle.

Deadlines, places, funding and fees

This guide states none of them. Cornell publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.

What to do now

Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.

Support

Independent support with the research statement and fit

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What does the Cornell Psychology PhD ask for?

The programme does not offer training in clinical, counseling, school, community or industrial psychology or clinical neuropsychology.

Is a test required?

The page says applicants are not required to submit GRE scores, the GRE psychology subject test or an undergraduate major in psychology, and lists an English language proficiency requirement (TOEFL or IELTS). Check it for the cycle you apply in.

Does this guide state a deadline?

No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Does the programme include funding?

This guide did not use Cornell's funding sections and states no funding.

Students and families

Talk to us about the Cornell Psychology PhD

Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.