Undergraduate · Dartmouth Engineering

Dartmouth Engineering: the A.B. first, then the B.E. as an addition

Dartmouth does not admit students to an engineering degree of their own. Undergraduates apply to Dartmouth, earn the Bachelor of Arts (A.B.) in engineering sciences, and may then add the professional Bachelor of Engineering (B.E.), which takes at least nine further courses and generally one to three further terms. Some students finish both in four years by planning early; most add a fifth year. For an A-level or IB applicant the useful questions are how the two degrees relate, what each asks of you and how the application really works.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Dartmouth says about Dartmouth Engineering

Taken from the Dartmouth Engineering pages for the Bachelor of Arts in Engineering Sciences and the Bachelor of Engineering, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Dartmouth's pages for the 2028-entry details.

The A.B. comes first

Dartmouth says all engineering majors first earn the Bachelor of Arts before the Bachelor of Engineering.

Nine further courses for the B.E.

Students who also pursue the B.E. take at least nine courses beyond the requirements for the major in the A.B., and at least six must have significant engineering design content.

One to three further terms

The B.E. generally takes one to three terms of additional study. Many students earn both degrees in four years, while others add a fifth year.

ABET accreditation applies to the B.E.

Dartmouth says its Bachelor of Engineering is a professional degree programme accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET.

No separate Thayer application

Undergraduates, apart from Partner School Dual-Degree students, apply through Dartmouth's Office of Undergraduate Admissions.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on the Dartmouth Engineering pages for the Bachelor of Arts in Engineering Sciences and the Bachelor of Engineering, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Dartmouth's Office of Undergraduate Admissions pages, its deadlines, English-proficiency scores, financial-aid amounts and the course lists for each major were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

How admission works

You apply to Dartmouth, not to Thayer

Dartmouth's engineering page says there is no direct application process to the Thayer School of Engineering for high school or transfer students, and that all undergraduates other than Partner School Dual-Degree students apply through the Office of Undergraduate Admissions. This guide therefore does not describe the A.B. or the B.E. as an admission track. The degree relationship below is what you work through once enrolled.

A.B. and B.E.

Two degrees, one sequence

The A.B. in engineering sciences needs at least seven prerequisite courses in mathematics and science, at least nine engineering sciences courses and the required liberal arts courses. The B.E. is then built on top: at least nine courses beyond the A.B. major, at least six with significant engineering design content. Dartmouth says many students earn both in four years and others add a fifth year.

A.B. only

An engineering sciences major within a liberal arts degree, with room for study abroad, research or interests beyond engineering.

A.B. and B.E. in four years

Possible for students who plan early with their advisor; Dartmouth does not present it as the default.

A.B. and B.E. over five years

The route Dartmouth says most students take, with one to three further terms.

What the pages do not say

Time and outcome are not promised

Dartmouth gives the B.E. as generally one to three terms after the A.B. and says advanced standing on entry may shorten it. It does not state that finishing both degrees in four years is certain, and neither does this guide. The pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name, and this guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Dartmouth's.

Do you want the professional B.E. or the flexible A.B.?

The B.E. is the ABET-accredited degree; the A.B. leaves more room outside engineering.

Would a fifth year suit your plans?

Dartmouth says most students add one, and that fifth-year aid is applied for through Thayer.

Is your mathematics and science preparation strong?

The A.B. major starts from at least seven prerequisite courses in these subjects.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Dartmouth's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Dartmouth's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The A.B. before B.E. sequence, the nine further courses and the application through Dartmouth's Office of Undergraduate Admissions: read 31 October 2026 with no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Dartmouth has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, English-proficiency requirements, financial-aid amounts and course lists: not stated here

This guide has not read them. Check Dartmouth for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read Dartmouth's engineering pages and the admissions pages, and sketch how the A.B. and the B.E. would fit your plans.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Dartmouth College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Dartmouth. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Do I apply separately to Thayer?

No. Dartmouth's engineering page says there is no direct application process to the Thayer School of Engineering for high school or transfer students.

Do I earn the A.B. before the B.E.?

Yes. Dartmouth says all engineering majors first earn the Bachelor of Arts before the Bachelor of Engineering.

How long does the B.E. take?

It generally takes one to three terms after the A.B. Some students finish both in four years; most add a fifth year.

How many courses does the B.E. add?

At least nine beyond the A.B. major requirements, with at least six having significant engineering design content.

Is the B.E. accredited?

Dartmouth says it is a professional degree programme accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Dartmouth's wording with no entry-year label. Check Dartmouth's pages again when Dartmouth publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Dartmouth Engineering

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics and sciences, how they would weigh a four-year A.B. against a longer A.B. and B.E. path, and how the Dartmouth application works, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.