The GRE is not accepted
The programme page states it plainly.
Doctoral · Dartmouth Computer science
The Dartmouth Guarini School page for Computer Science says the GRE is not accepted. PhD applicants are asked for a 1000-word essay, three recommendation letters, a 100-line code sample, a computer science paper they wrote and the names of up to three faculty members they are in contact with. The page carries no entry-year label.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Dartmouth Guarini School Computer Science programme and application-requirements page and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Dartmouth's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The programme page states it plainly.
A 100-line sample and, for PhD applicants, the entire paper.
PhD applicants name faculty they are in contact with or want to work with.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Dartmouth Guarini School Computer Science programme and application-requirements page, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Dartmouth research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you have written code and a computer science paper you can explain, and have already identified faculty whose work you want to join.
you were planning to send GRE scores. The page says they are not accepted.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The page lists a 1000-word personal statement, three recommendation letters, a resume, unofficial transcripts and a programme supplement asking for areas of interest, a 100-line code sample with a paragraph of explanation, a computer science paper and, for PhD applicants, up to three faculty. It states that the GRE is not accepted and that TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo are accepted for English proficiency. This guide states no deadline, fee or funding term.
How the programme runs
The programme page covers PhD and MS routes together, with PhD-specific items for the paper and the faculty selection. Research areas listed for interest include algorithms, machine learning, robotics, security and privacy, theory and others. These pages carry no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Dartmouth rules and carry no probability.
The page says the GRE is not accepted.
The page asks for a 100-line sample with a paragraph explaining why it was chosen.
The page asks for faculty you are in contact with or particularly interested in working with.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Dartmouth's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Dartmouth has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Dartmouth's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Dartmouth has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Dartmouth publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Dartmouth College or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
The personal statement is a brief essay of at most 1000 words on the applicant's path, intellectual interests and reasons for choosing Dartmouth.
The programme page says the GRE is not accepted. It accepts TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo for English proficiency from non-U.S. citizens, with exceptions for applicants holding degrees from certain institutions.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Dartmouth's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.