Doctoral · Harvard Chemistry

Harvard Chemistry PhD: lab training in four areas, a two-part statement, a Zoom interview

The Harvard Chemistry PhD, in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, expects a record of classroom and laboratory training in biological, organic, inorganic and physical chemistry. Its statement has two clearly delineated parts, a Statement of Purpose of up to 300 words and Research Accomplishments of up to 500 words, the GRE General is required and Zoom interviews are part of the process. For a chemistry graduate, the decision is whether your training and research record fit that structure. This guide sets out what the programme page says, which carries no entry-year label, marks Avandy's judgment separately and ends with next steps.

Official information · no entry-year label on the page

What Harvard asks for in Harvard Chemistry PhD

Taken from the Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Chemistry PhD (Chemistry and Chemical Biology) programme page and read on 1 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Harvard's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.

Training in four areas of chemistry

Applicants should have a record of classroom and laboratory training in biological, organic, inorganic and physical chemistry.

A two-part statement

A Statement of Purpose of up to 300 words and a Research Accomplishments section of up to 500 words, in one document.

The GRE General is required

The GRE General is required.

Zoom interviews

Zoom interviews are conducted as part of the application process.

Chemistry or chemical physics

The Department offers a PhD in chemistry and a PhD in chemical physics.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Chemistry PhD (Chemistry and Chemical Biology) programme page, which carries no entry-year label. The Graduate School's general admissions pages, the department's own website, deadlines, funding and the required English test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.

The decision

Does your record fit what the programme page asks?

This guide concerns only the Harvard research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.

It fits if

you have lab training across the four areas and research accomplishments to describe, even if from non-research science projects.

Think again if

you expect a single statement. Harvard asks for two sections under set headers.

Check the page

The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.

How the application is read

What the programme page lists

The programme page asks for a Statement of Purpose, not to exceed 300 words, and Research Accomplishments, not to exceed 500 words, in the same document under those two headers. If undergraduate research opportunities were unavailable, it says to discuss other science projects, reading projects and related experiences. A personal statement and resume are required and the GRE General is required. Zoom interviews are conducted as part of the application process.

How the programme runs

Focus and working pattern

The page says the programme builds strong connections between faculty and students and between disciplines, with rich training in the tools of chemical inquiry and access to the latest instrumentation. It is one of the programs in Harvard Integrated Life Sciences. This page carries no entry-year label and may change.

Avandy's judgment

Where an application can go wrong

These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Harvard rules and carry no probability.

Running the two statements together

Harvard asks you to delineate the two sections with the headers Statement of Purpose and Research Accomplishments.

Exceeding the word limits

The page sets up to 300 and up to 500 words.

Little lab breadth

Harvard looks for training in biological, organic, inorganic and physical chemistry.

Ignoring the interview step

Zoom interviews are part of the process.

Next steps

A sensible order of work

The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.

Check your record

Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.

Prepare the written work

Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.

Plan the tests

Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.

Read the current page

Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Planning for 2028-29 entry

Planning for 2028-29 entry: what carries over and what awaits publication

Harvard's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Harvard has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.

The structure of the programme and the application

The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Harvard's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Harvard has not published the following cycle.

Deadlines, places, funding and fees

This guide states none of them. Harvard publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.

What to do now

Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.

Support

Independent support with the research statement and fit

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Harvard University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What does the Harvard Chemistry PhD ask for?

Applicants should have a record of classroom and laboratory training in biological, organic, inorganic and physical chemistry.

Is a test required?

The GRE General is required.

Does this guide state a deadline?

No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Does the programme include funding?

This guide did not use Harvard's funding sections and states no funding.

Students and families

Talk to us about the Harvard Chemistry PhD

Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.