Doctoral · Harvard Molecular and cellular biology

Harvard MCB PhD: three statement prompts, three named faculty, and no GRE

The Harvard Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD expects introductory courses in chemistry, biology, physics and mathematics and strongly encourages programming. Its statement of purpose answers three prompts, the last of which asks you to cite three program faculty you want to work with and why, and it accepts neither a personal statement nor the GRE General. For a biology or biochemistry graduate, the decision is whether your research story and your choice of faculty are ready for that format. This guide sets out what the programme page says, which carries no entry-year label, marks Avandy's judgment separately and ends with next steps.

Official information · no entry-year label on the page

What Harvard asks for in Harvard Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD

Taken from the Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD programme page and read on 1 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Harvard's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.

Introductory science, not prerequisites

Applicants should have introductory courses in chemistry, biology, physics and mathematics; the longer course list is not a prerequisite but most admitted students have completed it.

Programming is encouraged

Competence in programming is strongly encouraged.

Three prompts

The statement of purpose answers three prompts, including naming three program faculty and why.

No personal statement

A personal statement is not accepted.

No GRE General

The GRE General is not accepted.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD programme page, which carries no entry-year label. The Graduate School's general admissions pages, the department's own website, deadlines, funding and the required English test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.

The decision

Does your record fit what the programme page asks?

This guide concerns only the Harvard research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.

It fits if

you have introductory science coursework, can describe a significant scientific discovery you were part of and can name three faculty with reasons.

Think again if

you plan to send a general personal statement or a GRE score. Harvard accepts neither.

Check the page

The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.

How the application is read

What the programme page lists

The programme page asks for a statement of purpose that addresses three prompts: your reasons and motivations for pursuing the PhD, within 200 words; your most significant scientific discovery, within 500 words; and where your main future interest lies within one of four research areas, citing three program faculty, within 300 words. It says a personal statement and the GRE General are not accepted.

How the programme runs

Focus and working pattern

The page says interests range from individual genes and molecules to organismal behaviour and evolutionary dynamics, and that the program encourages the use of conceptual and mathematical models. It lists dissertations students have completed and notes graduates in industry and academia. This page carries no entry-year label and may change.

Avandy's judgment

Where an application can go wrong

These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Harvard rules and carry no probability.

Sending a GRE score

Harvard says the GRE General is not accepted.

Naming faculty without a reason

The third prompt asks for three faculty and why you are interested in each.

A discovery story without detail

The second prompt asks you to describe what you or others did, why, and what it means, in simple language.

Treating the course list as a checklist

Harvard says the list is not a set of prerequisites.

Next steps

A sensible order of work

The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.

Check your record

Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.

Prepare the written work

Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.

Plan the tests

Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.

Read the current page

Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Planning for 2028-29 entry

Planning for 2028-29 entry: what carries over and what awaits publication

Harvard's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Harvard has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.

The structure of the programme and the application

The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Harvard's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Harvard has not published the following cycle.

Deadlines, places, funding and fees

This guide states none of them. Harvard publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.

What to do now

Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.

Support

Independent support with the research statement and fit

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Harvard University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What does the Harvard Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD ask for?

Applicants should have a record of introductory courses in chemistry, biology, physics and mathematics.

Is a test required?

The GRE General is not accepted.

Does this guide state a deadline?

No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.

Does the programme include funding?

This guide did not use Harvard's funding sections and states no funding.

Students and families

Talk to us about the Harvard Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD

Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.