Undergraduate · Imperial Physics

Imperial Physics BSc and MSci: entry, ESAT and no interview

Imperial's Physics degrees ask for an A* in both Mathematics and Physics, require a three-module ESAT and, on the department's page, generally do not hold interviews. The BSc (three years) and the MSci (four years) share the same entry grades, and the pages differ in small but practical ways, such as the ATAS certificate. This guide is written for families planning 2028 entry. Everything cycle-specific in it was last verified for 2027 entry, because Imperial has not yet published its 2028-entry requirements.

Official information · last verified for 2027 entry

What Imperial asks for in Physics

Taken from Imperial's official Physics BSc and Physics MSci course pages and last verified on 20 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Imperial's 2028-entry requirements and dates are awaiting publication.

A*A*A with A* in Mathematics and Physics; IB 40 with 7s

The minimum A-level standard is A*A*A, to include an A* in Mathematics, an A* in Physics and an A in another subject, and the typical offer is A*A*A for applicants studying three A levels. General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted. In the IB the minimum is 40 points to include 7 in Mathematics, 7 in Physics and 6 in a third subject at Higher Level, and the typical offer is 42 points.

Further Mathematics recommended; IB Analysis and Approaches preferred

Further Mathematics is recommended, but not essential. Imperial accepts both IB Mathematics syllabi at Higher Level, but says Analysis and Approaches is preferred.

The ESAT is compulsory: Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics

Applicants must sit the Engineering and Science Admissions Test (ESAT) as part of the application. The three modules are Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics, and each has 27 multiple-choice questions and lasts 40 minutes.

Generally no interview

The department generally does not hold interviews.

BSc F300 or MSci, with transfer in the first two years

The BSc, UCAS code F300, lasts three years and the MSci lasts four. Because the first two years of the Physics degrees share a high level of content, transfer to another degree within the Department is usually possible in the first two years. For an MSci course that includes a year abroad an appropriate modern foreign language at CEFR A2+ is also needed.

Official sources

Last verified on 20 October 2026 for 2027 entry, on Imperial's Physics BSc and MSci course pages. The 2025 applications-to-places ratio is history, not a requirement. ESAT sittings and booking windows are cycle-specific and are not stated.

BSc or MSci

Two degrees, one entry standard

Imperial's BSc Physics (F300) lasts three years and its MSci Physics lasts four. The pages give the same A-level and IB standards, and Imperial says the first two years share a high level of content, so transfer between the Department's degrees is usually possible in those years. That means the choice does not have to be final at application, though selection criteria and the rules on a year abroad can apply.

Reading the offer

Two A*s, and Further Mathematics as an advantage

The offer is short, and the detail matters.

Mathematics and Physics

Imperial asks for A*A*A, to include an A* in Mathematics and an A* in Physics, with an A in another subject. The typical offer is A*A*A for applicants studying three A levels, and typical offers can be higher than the minimum.

Further Mathematics

Imperial recommends Further Mathematics but says it is not essential, so a school that does not offer it is not a bar.

Not accepted

General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted.

The IB

A minimum of 40 points with 7 in Mathematics, 7 in Physics and 6 in a third Higher Level subject, and a typical offer of 42 points. Either IB Mathematics syllabus is accepted at Higher Level, with Analysis and Approaches preferred.

The ESAT

Three modules, all compulsory

Imperial says applicants must sit the ESAT as part of the application, and that the three modules for Physics are Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics. Each has 27 multiple-choice questions and lasts 40 minutes. You choose the modules at booking, so check each course on your list first. The ESAT is run by University Admissions Tests UK, and its sittings and booking windows change each cycle, so they are not stated here.

The application

No interview: what carries the case

Imperial's Physics page says the department generally does not hold interviews. That moves the weight onto the ESAT, the predicted grades and the personal statement, so the preparation is for the test and the written application.

International applicants

ATAS differs between the degrees

On Imperial's pages, an ATAS certificate is not required for students applying for the BSc, while for the MSci, unless you are from an exempt nationality, you will need an ATAS certificate to obtain your visa and study the course. ATAS is a UK government scheme, so check the current rules and the page for the degree you apply to.

Context

How competitive the course has been

Imperial's page shows 7 applications for every place for 2025. That is a historical figure about a past cohort. It is not a requirement and it does not predict any individual result.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Imperial has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Imperial published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Imperial has not yet published it.

Grades, subject rules, the ESAT modules and the no-interview position: last verified for 2027 entry

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Imperial has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Application deadline, ESAT sittings and booking windows: awaiting publication for 2028 entry

Check Imperial's course pages and the test provider's key dates for the 2028-entry values when they appear.

What to do now

Plan Mathematics and Physics at the top grade, add Further Mathematics if your school offers it, and prepare for the three ESAT modules.

Support

Independent support with course strategy and preparation

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Imperial College London or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor working within one advisory plan. Support is tailored to the student, and no outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Does Imperial interview Physics applicants?

Imperial's Physics page says the department generally does not hold interviews. That was its position for 2027 entry.

Is the ESAT compulsory?

Yes. Applicants must sit the ESAT, with the modules Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics. That was Imperial's rule for 2027 entry.

Do I need Further Mathematics?

Imperial recommends it but says it is not essential.

Is the BSc different from the MSci at entry?

The pages give the same A-level and IB standards. The MSci with a year abroad also needs a modern foreign language, and the ATAS position differs between the two degrees.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Imperial's wording for the 2027 application cycle. Check the course pages again when Imperial publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Imperial Physics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their Mathematics and Physics, whether Further Mathematics is available and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.