Undergraduate · Oxford Computer Science and Philosophy

Oxford Computer Science and Philosophy: who should choose the joint degree

Oxford's Computer Science and Philosophy degree asks for the same mathematical foundation as Computer Science, including the TMUA, and then adds a second discipline built on argument and writing. The real decision is whether the philosophical half is something you want to do for three or four years, or an interest that Computer Science alone would satisfy. Oxford's wording below describes 2027 entry; nothing here is a confirmed 2028 requirement.

Official information · last verified for 2027 entry

What Oxford asks for in Computer Science and Philosophy

Taken from Oxford's Computer Science and Philosophy course page and read on 31 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Oxford's 2028-entry requirements and dates are awaiting publication.

A*AA, with A*A in Mathematics and Further Mathematics

The A-level requirement is A*AA, including A*A in Mathematics and Further Mathematics if available, in either order. Further Mathematics is highly recommended, and if your school offers it Oxford expects you to have taken it.

The IB: 39 points, with 766 at Higher Level

The IB requirement is 39 points including core points, with 766 at Higher Level. The 7 must be in Higher Level Mathematics.

Mathematics is required; the TMUA is compulsory

Candidates are expected to have Mathematics at A level (A* or A), Advanced Higher (A) or Higher Level in the IB (7). All applicants must take the Test of Mathematics for University Admission, both Paper 1 and Paper 2.

No written work, an online interview

You do not need to submit written work. Shortlisted candidates are invited to at least one online interview.

Three years or four, decided late

All students apply for the four-year course and decide by the end of their third year whether to continue. The degree awarded is BA or MCompPhil.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Oxford's Computer Science and Philosophy course page, which describes 2027 entry. The UCAS deadline, test dates and booking windows, interview dates, admissions statistics, fees and the two departments' own selection criteria pages were not read and are not stated.

The course

Two departments, one degree, and a late choice about the fourth year

Oxford says the course combines analytical and technical knowledge with discursive, writing and research skills, and that students learn from two departments. It points to the long link between computing and philosophy, from Alan Turing's invention of the digital computer to artificial intelligence now. A typical early week, Oxford says, has around eight lectures, two tutorials and up to two practical sessions. There is a group project in the second year and, for students who continue to the fourth, a large individual project or philosophy thesis.

Joint or single?

Why this is a different decision from Oxford Computer Science

The single-subject Computer Science degree has its own guide on this site. The joint degree shares the mathematical entry bar, so the question is not whether you can reach the grades. It is what you want the other half of your week to be.

Choose the joint degree if

you want to write and argue about the ideas behind computing, such as what a program is, what intelligence might mean, or how we should respond to AI, as much as you want to build and prove things.

Choose Computer Science alone if

your interest is in the technical subject itself and philosophy would be an extra. A joint degree spends part of its time on a discipline you would then have to want.

Look at Mathematics and Philosophy instead if

your strength is pure mathematics rather than computing. That is a separate Oxford course with separate rules, and it has its own guide.

Reading the offer

Mathematics first, Further Mathematics if your school has it

The entry profile is a strong mathematical one. A levels need A*A in Mathematics and Further Mathematics where Further Mathematics is available, and the IB needs a 7 in Higher Level Mathematics within 766 at Higher Level. Oxford's page notes that if Further Mathematics is not available, other offer patterns apply, so check the course page for your own circumstances rather than assuming the standard pattern.

A levels

A*AA including A*A in Mathematics and Further Mathematics if available, in either order.

The IB

39 points including core points, with 766 at Higher Level, the 7 in Higher Level Mathematics.

No prior study of either subject is required

Oxford says it does not expect applicants to have formally studied either Computer Science or Philosophy.

The test

The TMUA is part of the application, and the philosophy is not tested on paper

Every applicant takes the TMUA, both Paper 1 (Applications of Mathematical Knowledge) and Paper 2 (Mathematical Reasoning). There is no written work and no separate philosophy test, so philosophical aptitude is judged in the personal statement and the interview. Test dates and booking windows change by cycle and are not stated here.

What tutors look for

Two sets of criteria, and the interview has to satisfy both

For the Computer Science half Oxford looks for proven mathematical talent, independent working, the capacity to absorb and use new ideas, and enthusiasm. For the Philosophy half it looks for a critical and analytical approach to abstract questions, logical thinking and clear expression, and a desire to delve deeper into how we think about things. A candidate who is strong on one and uncomfortable with the other should say so to themselves before applying.

A decision framework

Three tests for whether you want the joint degree

This is Avandy's own framework, not Oxford's.

Do you ask philosophical questions unprompted?

If you have never wondered about the nature of computation, knowledge or mind outside a classroom, the second half may feel like a requirement rather than a pleasure.

Can you write a tight argument?

Write 500 words defending a position you do not hold, then see whether anyone can find the gap. Philosophy tutorials reward exactly this.

Is the mathematics secure before you apply?

The TMUA is the same obstacle for everyone. Work on Further Mathematics and past-style reasoning problems early, and treat the philosophical reading as the extra.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Oxford has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Oxford published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Oxford has not yet published it.

Grades, the Mathematics and Further Mathematics rule, the TMUA and the absence of written work: last verified for 2027 entry

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Oxford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Application deadline, TMUA sittings and booking windows, interview dates and any change to selection arrangements: awaiting publication for 2028 entry

Check Oxford's Computer Science and Philosophy course page for the 2028-entry values when they appear.

What to do now

Decide whether you want the joint degree, secure Further Mathematics if your school offers it, and begin TMUA-style practice.

Support

Independent support with course choice and preparation

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Oxford or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. TMUA preparation and interview practice help a candidate reason clearly under pressure; they do not supply answers or predict questions. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What are the Oxford Computer Science and Philosophy entry requirements?

A*AA at A level including A*A in Mathematics and Further Mathematics if available, or 39 IB points including core points with 766 at Higher Level and the 7 in Mathematics. This is Oxford's wording for 2027 entry.

Do I need to take the TMUA?

Yes. Oxford says all applicants must take the Test of Mathematics for University Admission, both Paper 1 and Paper 2.

Do I need to have studied Philosophy?

No. Oxford says it does not expect applicants to have formally studied either subject.

Is written work required?

No. Oxford's page says no written work is submitted. Shortlisted candidates are invited to at least one online interview.

Can I choose between three and four years?

All students apply for the four-year course and decide by the end of their third year whether to continue. The degree awarded is BA or MCompPhil.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Oxford's wording for the 2027 application cycle. Check the course page again when Oxford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Oxford Computer Science and Philosophy

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their Mathematics and Further Mathematics, TMUA readiness, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.