Undergraduate · Oxford Mathematics and Philosophy

Oxford Mathematics and Philosophy: entry, TMUA and fit

Oxford's Mathematics and Philosophy asks for the top grades in Mathematics and Further Mathematics, the two-paper TMUA and an interview that tests both disciplines. It is a joint degree, so the decision is whether you want both subjects at full strength. This guide is written for families planning 2028 entry. Everything cycle-specific in it was last verified for 2027 entry, so treat it as the best guide to preparation and not as the 2028 requirement.

Official information · last verified for 2027 entry

What Oxford asks for in Mathematics and Philosophy

Taken from Oxford's official Mathematics and Philosophy course page and read on 25 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Oxford's 2028-entry requirements and dates are awaiting publication.

A*A*A with A*s in Mathematics and Further Mathematics

The A-level requirement is A*A*A with the A*s in Mathematics and Further Mathematics, if available. Where Further Mathematics is not available, it is either A*AAa with A* in Mathematics and a in AS-level Further Mathematics, or A*AA with A* in Mathematics. For the IB, Oxford asks for 39 points including core points with 766 at Higher Level, and the 7 must be in Higher Level Mathematics.

Mathematics required, Further Mathematics highly recommended

Applicants are expected to have Mathematics to A level (A* grade), Advanced Higher (A grade), Higher Level in the IB (score 7) or equivalent. Oxford highly recommends Further Mathematics and says most students who read the course have taken both.

The TMUA, both papers

All applicants must take the Test of Mathematics for University Admission (TMUA) and both papers: Paper 1 (Applications of Mathematical Knowledge) and Paper 2 (Mathematical Reasoning).

No written work

Oxford says you do not need to submit any written work for this course.

An online interview with a mathematics part and a philosophy part

Shortlisted candidates will be invited to at least one online interview, expected to take place in December. Oxford describes what it looks for in each discipline.

A four-year BA / MMathPhil

The degree awarded is BA or MMathPhil, the course lasts 4 years and the UCAS code is GV15.

Official sources

Read on 25 October 2026 on Oxford's Mathematics and Philosophy course page, which describes 2027 entry. TMUA sittings, booking windows and the UCAS deadline are cycle-specific and are not stated. The Mathematics and Philosophy websites and the paper structure were not read.

The course

A joint degree that needs both halves to be strong

Oxford says the course unites mathematics and philosophy, developing rigorous problem-solving and analytical skills. The Philosophy Faculty is the largest in the UK and one of the largest in the world, and the Mathematical Institute offers a wide choice of mathematics topics, especially in the fourth year. The degree awarded is a BA or MMathPhil over four years. This guide does not describe the paper structure, which it has not read.

Reading the offer

Further Mathematics is built into the offer

Oxford writes the grades around Mathematics and Further Mathematics, with alternatives for schools that do not offer it.

With Further Mathematics

A*A*A with the A*s in Mathematics and Further Mathematics.

Without Further Mathematics

Either A*AAa with A* in Mathematics and a in AS-level Further Mathematics, or A*AA with A* in Mathematics.

The IB

39 points including core points with 766 at Higher Level, and the 7 must be in Higher Level Mathematics.

Who usually applies

Oxford says the majority of those who read Mathematics and Philosophy have taken both Mathematics and Further Mathematics at A level or equivalent.

The TMUA

Both papers are compulsory

Oxford says all applicants must take the TMUA and both papers: Paper 1 (Applications of Mathematical Knowledge) and Paper 2 (Mathematical Reasoning). The test's sittings and booking windows change each cycle, so they are not stated here: check Oxford's course page and the test provider's key dates.

The interview

Two disciplines, one interview process

Shortlisted candidates will be invited to at least one online interview, expected to take place in December. In the philosophy part you can show a critical and analytical approach to abstract questions and the ability to defend a viewpoint by reasoned argument. In mathematics you may be asked to look at problems of a type you have never seen before, and Oxford says it wants to see whether you can respond to suggestions on how to tackle new things, rather than find out simply what you have been taught. There is no written work to submit.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Oxford has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Oxford published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Oxford has not yet published it.

Grades, the TMUA papers and the interview approach: last verified for 2027 entry

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Oxford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

UCAS deadline, TMUA sittings and booking windows: awaiting publication for 2028 entry

Check Oxford's course page and the test provider's key dates for the 2028-entry values when they appear.

What to do now

Confirm that Mathematics and Further Mathematics are available, start TMUA-style practice, and read enough philosophy to argue a position aloud.

Support

Independent support with course strategy and preparation

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Oxford or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each programme. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What are the Oxford Mathematics and Philosophy entry requirements?

A*A*A with the A*s in Mathematics and Further Mathematics if available, or 39 IB points including core points with 766 at Higher Level and the 7 in Higher Level Mathematics. This is Oxford's wording for 2027 entry.

Which test is required?

The Test of Mathematics for University Admission (TMUA), with both papers: Paper 1 (Applications of Mathematical Knowledge) and Paper 2 (Mathematical Reasoning).

What if my school does not offer Further Mathematics?

Oxford gives alternatives: A*AAa with A* in Mathematics and a in AS-level Further Mathematics, or A*AA with A* in Mathematics.

Do I need to submit written work?

No. Oxford says you do not need to submit any written work for this course.

Is there an interview?

Yes. Shortlisted candidates will be invited to at least one online interview, expected to take place in December.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Oxford's wording for the 2027 application cycle. Check the course page again when Oxford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Oxford Mathematics and Philosophy

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether Further Mathematics is available, how they have approached the TMUA, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.