Undergraduate · Penn College of Arts and Sciences

Penn Economics BA: ten economics courses, two maths and a 4000-level finish

Penn does not admit applicants to Economics. They apply to one of four undergraduate schools, and the Economics BA sits in the College of Arts and Sciences. The University Catalog sets a 32-unit major: ten economics courses and two mathematics courses, a micro, macro, statistics and econometrics core, and four 4000-level electives. That is the College's version of economics; Penn also lists a separate Mathematical Economics major with its own plan.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Penn says about Penn Economics

Taken from Penn's University Catalog entry for Economics, BA and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Penn's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a school

Penn says you apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Economics sits in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Ten economics, two maths

The major needs ten economics and two mathematics course units, six of the economics units taken at Penn.

A core, then four 4000-level courses

Intermediate micro and macro, statistics and econometrics lead to four 4000-level electives.

An honours thesis

Honours needs a minimum 3.5 GPA in Economics and a year-long thesis.

The SAT or ACT is required

Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on Penn's University Catalog entry for Economics, BA and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The department's own pages, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The programme

What the catalogue says the Economics BA is

The catalogue treats economics as a social science whose core is the theory of how individuals, firms and organisations make choices under constraints. The major totals 32 course units: two introductory courses, intermediate microeconomics and macroeconomics, statistics, econometric methods, four 4000-level electives and two calculus courses. Intermediate microeconomics is a prerequisite for all 2000-level economics courses. Honours requires a minimum GPA of 3.5 in Economics and a year-long thesis.

Is it the right route?

Economics BA beside Mathematical Economics and Behavioral Economics

Penn describes these as separate schools and programmes, so the choice is made at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

The Economics BA fits if

you want economics as a liberal-arts social science with calculus as the mathematics floor.

Mathematical Economics fits if

you want a more mathematical treatment of the same subject. Avandy's Penn Mathematical Economics guide covers it.

Behavioral Economics fits if

you want psychology and decision-making inside economics. Avandy's Penn Behavioral Economics guide covers it.

Admission and testing

The College of Arts and Sciences, an SAT or ACT and predicted grades

Penn requires applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores, with a waiver for hardship. It has no explicit course requirements or minimum test score requirements, and it asks schools to provide predicted scores if final exams are not yet available. Economics is not a separate application: the application is to the College of Arts and Sciences. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Penn's.

How much mathematics do you want?

The BA asks for two calculus courses plus statistics and econometrics.

Do you want a thesis?

Honours adds a year-long thesis with a minimum 3.5 GPA in Economics.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Penn says applicants must submit scores for either test, with a hardship waiver.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Penn's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Penn's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The curriculum on the Penn catalogue page read on 1 November 2026, which describes itself as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Penn has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any updated curriculum for the 2028 cohort: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Penn for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the catalogue entry and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with the University of Pennsylvania. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Penn Economics?

You apply to the College of Arts and Sciences, one of four undergraduate schools. Penn says you do not technically apply to Penn itself.

How many economics courses does the BA need?

The catalogue says the major needs ten course units of economics and two of mathematics, with six economics units taken in Penn's Economics Department.

Is there an honours thesis?

Yes. Honours requires a minimum GPA of 3.5 in Economics and includes a year-long thesis.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Does Penn name specific A levels or IB subjects?

Penn says it has no explicit course requirements for admittance.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Penn's wording with no entry-year label. Check Penn's pages again when Penn publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Penn Economics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, how much mathematics they want, whether the College BA suits them better than a quantitative route and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.