Undergraduate · Penn College of Arts and Sciences

Penn Linguistics: four core courses, six more in linguistics and a language option

Penn does not admit applicants to Linguistics. They apply to the College of Arts and Sciences and choose a major within it. The University Catalog describes a compact major of 34 course units: four core courses, six linguistics courses, two related courses and two language courses. It also states that Penn's department, founded in 1947, is the oldest modern linguistics department in the United States.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Penn says about Penn Linguistics

Taken from Penn's University Catalog entry for Linguistics, BA and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Penn's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a school

Penn says you apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Linguistics sits in the College of Arts and Sciences.

34 course units

The catalogue gives 34 as the minimum total course units for graduation in this major.

Four core courses

Sociolinguistics, Sound Structure of Language, Introduction to Syntax and a Tutorial in Linguistics.

A language option

The major asks for two language courses from a long list of subjects.

The SAT or ACT is required

Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on Penn's University Catalog entry for Linguistics, BA and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The department's own pages, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The programme

What the catalogue says the Linguistics major is

The catalogue says the program acquaints students with the scientific study of human language and its relationships to cognition, society and history, and prepares them for graduate training or serves as part of a general education. The major combines four core courses, six linguistics courses with three at the 2000 level or higher, two related courses that may come from other departments with approval and two language courses. Honours requires a 3.0 overall GPA and 3.5 in major-related courses.

Is it the right route?

Linguistics beside Cognitive Science and Philosophy

Penn describes these as separate schools and programmes, so the choice is made at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Linguistics fits if

you want language itself, from syntax and sound structure to sociolinguistics, as the object of study.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want mind and computation across several fields. Avandy's Penn Cognitive Science guide covers it.

Philosophy fits if

you want argument and meaning approached through reasoning. Avandy's Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics guide covers a neighbouring route.

Admission and testing

The College of Arts and Sciences, an SAT or ACT and predicted grades

Penn requires applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores, with a waiver for hardship. It has no explicit course requirements or minimum test score requirements, and it asks schools to provide predicted scores if final exams are not yet available. Linguistics is not a separate application: the application is to the College of Arts and Sciences. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Penn's.

Are you drawn to how language works, not only to learning languages?

The core is sociolinguistics, sound structure and syntax.

Which languages could you add?

The language option accepts courses from a long list of language subjects.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Penn says applicants must submit scores for either test, with a hardship waiver.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Penn's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Penn's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The curriculum on the Penn catalogue page read on 1 November 2026, which describes itself as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Penn has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any updated curriculum for the 2028 cohort: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Penn for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the catalogue entry and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with the University of Pennsylvania. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Penn Linguistics?

You apply to the College of Arts and Sciences, one of four undergraduate schools. Penn says you do not technically apply to Penn itself.

How many courses does the Linguistics major need?

The catalogue gives 34 as the minimum total course units for graduation in the major, including general education requirements and free electives.

Does the major include a language requirement?

Yes. The plan of study includes a language option of two language courses.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Does Penn name specific A levels or IB subjects?

Penn says it has no explicit course requirements for admittance.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Penn's wording with no entry-year label. Check Penn's pages again when Penn publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Penn Linguistics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether they want the scientific study of language, how they would add a language option and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.