Undergraduate · Penn Penn Engineering

Penn Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics: machines, energy and materials

Penn says applicants apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics (MEAM) is a B.S.E. major in Penn Engineering, covering forces, motion, fluids and energy and the machines built from them. This guide sets out what the catalogue says about the 37-unit degree and its concentrations.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Penn says about Penn Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics

Taken from Penn's University Catalog entry for Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, BSE and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Penn's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a school

Penn says you apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics sits in the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Forces, motion, fluids and energy

The catalogue defines the field around forces, deformation, motion of solids and fluids, and heat and energy.

A 37-unit B.S.E. with concentrations

Students may choose a concentration such as Energy, Fluids and Thermal Systems.

Machines named

Wind turbines, rocket engines, robots and 3D printers are the catalogue's examples.

The SAT or ACT is required

Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on Penn's University Catalog entry for Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, BSE and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The department's own pages, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The programme

What the catalogue says the programme is

Penn's catalogue says mechanical engineers design and develop devices, mechanisms and machines, from wind turbines and rocket engines to robots and 3D printers, and assure the safety of systems people use daily. The B.S.E. reflects 37 course units, and students may select one of several concentrations, including Energy, Fluids and Thermal Systems and Mechanics of Materials, Structures and Design. The page is dated as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later. This guide does not list individual courses.

Is it the right route?

MEAM beside other Penn Engineering majors

Penn describes these as separate schools and programmes, so the choice is made at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

MEAM fits if

you want machines, energy and mechanics, with a concentration to focus.

Electrical Engineering fits if

you want electronics and information. Avandy's Penn Electrical Engineering guide covers it.

Materials Science and Engineering fits if

you want the materials themselves. Avandy's Penn Materials Science guide covers it.

Admission and testing

Penn Engineering, an SAT or ACT and predicted grades

Penn requires applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores, with a waiver for hardship. It has no explicit course requirements or minimum test score requirements, and it asks schools to provide predicted scores if final exams are not yet available. Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics is not a separate application: the application is to the School of Engineering and Applied Science. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Penn's.

Do machines and energy systems interest you most?

They are the field's examples.

Which concentration would you choose?

The catalogue lists several.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Penn requires one of them from applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Penn's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Penn's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The curriculum on the Penn catalogue page read on 1 November 2026, which describes itself as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Penn has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any updated curriculum for the 2028 cohort: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Penn for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the catalogue entry and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with the University of Pennsylvania. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Penn Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics?

You apply to the School of Engineering and Applied Science, one of four undergraduate schools. Penn says you do not technically apply to Penn itself.

Are there concentrations?

Yes. The catalogue says students may select one of the listed concentrations.

How many course units does the B.S.E. need?

The catalogue says 37.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Does Penn name specific A levels or IB subjects?

Penn says it has no explicit course requirements for admittance.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Penn's wording with no entry-year label. Check Penn's pages again when Penn publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Penn Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics and physics, how they weigh mechanical design against other engineering routes and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.