GRE or GMAT, no waiver
Finance accepts either test; the requirement cannot be waived.
Doctoral · Penn Finance
The Wharton Doctoral Programs requirements page, published for Fall 2027 entry, says every applicant provides GMAT or GRE scores and that for Finance either is accepted, with no waiver and no exceptions. It asks for three recommendations and a personal statement, and sets out a generative AI policy on application work. The Finance programme page describes a PhD that draws heavily on economics.
Official information · last verified for 2027-28 entry
Taken from the Wharton Doctoral Programs application requirements page and Finance programme page and read on 2 November 2026. The page describes 2027-28 entry. For a 2028-29 start, applied for in 2027-28, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Penn's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
Finance accepts either test; the requirement cannot be waived.
Submitted through the online system.
The work must be the applicant's own.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Wharton Doctoral Programs application requirements page and Finance programme page, which describes 2027-28 entry. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Penn research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you can take the GRE or the GMAT, want a PhD that draws heavily on economics and can write your own statement.
you were relying on a test waiver. The page says there are no exceptions.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The requirements page, labelled for Fall 2027, lists three recommendations, scanned transcripts, a personal statement, GMAT or GRE scores (accepted for Finance up to five years old) and, for applicants whose native language is not English, the TOEFL or IELTS unless a waiver applies. It adds a generative AI policy. This guide states no deadline, fee or funding term.
How the programme runs
The Finance programme page describes a PhD preparing students for research and teaching careers, focusing on asset pricing, corporate finance, international finance, financial institutions and macroeconomics. Courses and the sample plan of study are in the University Graduate Catalog, which this guide did not read.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Penn rules and carry no probability.
The page says the requirement cannot be waived and there are no exceptions.
The AI policy says it is unacceptable to have AI substantially complete such a task.
GMAT and GRE scores more than five years old must be retaken.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Penn's programme page describes entry in 2027-28. A start in 2028-29 means applying in the 2027-28 cycle, under rules Penn has not yet published. Each item below is either last verified for 2027-28 entry, which means Penn published it for the previous cycle and it may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Penn's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Penn has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Penn publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with University of Pennsylvania or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
The Admissions Committee requires three recommendations, submitted through the online system.
The Wharton requirements page says all doctoral applicants provide GMAT or GRE scores, that Finance accepts either, and that the requirement cannot be waived. Applicants whose native language is not English also take the TOEFL or IELTS unless a waiver applies.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Penn's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.