GRE or GMAT, no waiver
Management accepts either test; the requirement cannot be waived.
Doctoral · Penn Management
The Wharton Doctoral Programs requirements page, published for Fall 2027 entry, says every applicant provides GMAT or GRE scores and that for Management either is accepted, with no waiver and no exceptions. The Management programme page describes a flexible, interdisciplinary PhD with six specialisations, research assistantship work from the first year and a hoped-for job market entry in year four or five.
Official information · last verified for 2027-28 entry
Taken from the Wharton Doctoral Programs application requirements page and Management programme page and read on 2 November 2026. The page describes 2027-28 entry. For a 2028-29 start, applied for in 2027-28, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Penn's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
Management accepts either test; the requirement cannot be waived.
Entrepreneurship through Strategy, often spanned by students.
A research assistantship in the first year, with the job market in year four or five.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Wharton Doctoral Programs application requirements page and Management programme page, which describes 2027-28 entry. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Penn research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you can take the GRE or the GMAT, have a research interest in organisations, entrepreneurship or strategy and can write your own statement.
you were hoping for a test waiver or a teaching-first route. The page says no waiver, and the programme leans on early research.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The requirements page, labelled for Fall 2027, lists three recommendations, scanned transcripts, a personal statement, GMAT or GRE scores (accepted for Management up to five years old) and, for applicants whose native language is not English, the TOEFL or IELTS unless a waiver applies. It adds a generative AI policy. This guide states no deadline, fee or funding term.
How the programme runs
The Management programme page describes a PhD that applies social science theory and research methods to management problems, with six specialisations that students often span, a first-year research assistantship and an aim of entering the job market in year four or five. Courses and the sample plan of study are in the University Graduate Catalog, which this guide did not read.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Penn rules and carry no probability.
The page says the requirement cannot be waived and there are no exceptions.
The page says students frequently span them.
The AI policy says it is unacceptable to have AI substantially complete such a task.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Penn's programme page describes entry in 2027-28. A start in 2028-29 means applying in the 2027-28 cycle, under rules Penn has not yet published. Each item below is either last verified for 2027-28 entry, which means Penn published it for the previous cycle and it may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Penn's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Penn has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Penn publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with University of Pennsylvania or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
The Admissions Committee requires three recommendations, submitted through the online system.
The Wharton requirements page says all doctoral applicants provide GMAT or GRE scores, that Management accepts either, and that the requirement cannot be waived. Applicants whose native language is not English also take the TOEFL or IELTS unless a waiver applies.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Penn's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.