Undergraduate · Penn College of Arts and Sciences

Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics: one major, four catalogue concentrations

Penn says applicants apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Philosophy, Politics and Economics is a B.A. major in the College of Arts and Sciences that the catalogue publishes as four entries, one for each concentration. This guide sets out what the shared overview says; it read the Choice & Behavior entry and does not describe the other three in detail.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Penn says about Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics

Taken from Penn's University Catalog entry for Philosophy, Politics and Economics, BA: Choice & Behavior and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Penn's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a school

Penn says you apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Philosophy, Politics and Economics sits in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Four catalogue entries

The catalogue lists Choice & Behavior, Distributive Justice, Globalization and Public Policy & Governance as entries for the BA.

At least 36 course units

The catalogue lists a minimum of 36 for graduation in the major.

Frameworks for politics and markets

The catalogue says the programme studies analytical frameworks for understanding and justifying political and economic structures.

The SAT or ACT is required

Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on Penn's University Catalog entry for Philosophy, Politics and Economics, BA: Choice & Behavior and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The department's own pages, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The programme

What the catalogue says the programme is

Penn's catalogue says Philosophy, Politics and Economics allows undergraduates to study a variety of analytical frameworks developed to understand and justify political and economic structures, particularly constitutional democracy and the market system. It prepares graduates for careers in public policy, public services, business and law among others. The minimum is 36 course units. The catalogue publishes the BA as four entries, one per concentration; this guide read only the Choice & Behavior entry and does not list courses.

Is it the right route?

PPE beside other College and Wharton routes

Penn describes these as separate schools and programmes, so the choice is made at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

PPE fits if

you want philosophy, politics and economics studied together within one College major.

Mathematical Economics fits if

you want economic theory. Avandy's Penn Mathematical Economics guide covers it.

Wharton fits if

you want business taught in a business school. Avandy's Penn Wharton first-year guide covers it.

Admission and testing

The College, an SAT or ACT and predicted grades

Penn requires applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores, with a waiver for hardship. It has no explicit course requirements or minimum test score requirements, and it asks schools to provide predicted scores if final exams are not yet available. Philosophy, Politics and Economics is not a separate application: the application is to the College of Arts and Sciences. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Penn's.

Do you want to study philosophy, politics and economics together?

The programme is built on that combination.

Which concentration draws you in?

The catalogue publishes four.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Penn requires one of them from applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Penn's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Penn's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The curriculum on the Penn catalogue page read on 1 November 2026, which describes itself as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Penn has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any updated curriculum for the 2028 cohort: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Penn for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the catalogue entry and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with the University of Pennsylvania. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics?

You apply to the College of Arts and Sciences, one of four undergraduate schools. Penn says you do not technically apply to Penn itself.

Is PPE one entry or several in the catalogue?

The catalogue lists four entries for the BA, one for each concentration: Choice & Behavior, Distributive Justice, Globalization and Public Policy & Governance.

How many units?

The catalogue says a minimum of 36.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Does Penn name specific A levels or IB subjects?

Penn says it has no explicit course requirements for admittance.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Penn's wording with no entry-year label. Check Penn's pages again when Penn publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their essay-writing, mathematics and social-science subjects, how they weigh the four concentrations and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.