The Subject Test is recommended
The page calls the Mathematics Subject Test optional but highly recommended and the General Test optional.
Doctoral · Princeton Mathematics
The Princeton Mathematics PhD page lists the GRE Mathematics Subject Test as optional but highly recommended and the General Test as optional, not required. It asks for a Statement of Academic Purpose, a Personal Statement and three letters of recommendation. After admission the department's requirements page sets a distinctive language test in French, German or Russian before the end of the first year, and general examinations in algebra and real and complex variables plus two chosen topics.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Princeton Department of Mathematics graduate admission and program requirements pages and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Princeton's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The page calls the Mathematics Subject Test optional but highly recommended and the General Test optional.
Students show an ability to read mathematical texts in French, German or Russian before the end of the first year.
Applicants interested in applied and computational mathematics apply directly to PACM.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Princeton Department of Mathematics graduate admission and program requirements pages, which carries no entry-year label. The application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Princeton research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you are ready for a reading-language test, general examinations and an independent-study start, and have a Subject Test result you are willing to send.
you want applied and computational mathematics. The page says to apply directly to PACM.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The admission page lists an electronic application, a Statement of Academic Purpose, a Personal Statement, a CV, three letters of recommendation and transcripts, with TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo for English proficiency. The Mathematics Subject Test is optional but highly recommended. Applicants interested in applied and computational mathematics apply directly to PACM. This guide states no deadline or funding term.
How the programme runs
The programme is four years, with a fifth year usually granted. The requirements page says students usually acquire the standard beginning graduate material through independent study and consultation. They pass a language requirement and both portions of the general examinations, submit a dissertation and sustain a final public oral examination, and must be in residence for at least one academic year before the general examination. This page carries no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Princeton rules and carry no probability.
The page calls it optional but highly recommended.
French, German or Russian reading ability is required before the end of year one.
Applied and computational interests go through PACM.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Princeton's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Princeton has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Princeton's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Princeton has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Princeton publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Princeton University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
The required materials include a Statement of Academic Purpose and a Personal Statement.
The Mathematics page lists the GRE Mathematics Subject Test as optional but highly recommended and the General Test as optional, not required.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Princeton's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.