Undergraduate · Stanford

Stanford Art Practice: a studio major, and an arts portfolio that is optional

Stanford does not admit applicants to a major, and the Optional Arts Portfolio is not an entry ticket to Art Practice. Admission asks applicants to apply to the university as a whole; a portfolio in Art Practice, Dance, Music or Theater and Performance Studies is optional, and Stanford says a student who submits one is not required to major in the arts, nor locked out of the arts if they do not. The Bulletin then describes a 65-unit Art Practice major built from studio courses, art history and a senior exhibition.

Official information · read 2 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Stanford says about Stanford Art Practice

Taken from the Stanford Bulletin entry for the Art Practice BA and the Stanford Undergraduate Admission arts portfolio page and Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International pages, read on 2 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Stanford's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after university-wide admission

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, and the majors you indicate do not bind you in any way. The pages read describe no separate application to Art Practice.

Sixteen lower and sixteen upper studio units

The major has six lower-level and six upper-level studio courses, plus four art history or critical theory courses.

A senior exhibition

The capstone in spring of senior year culminates in the Senior Art Exhibition.

The portfolio is optional

Stanford says submitting one does not require you to major in the arts.

The SAT or ACT is required

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required and sets no minimum. It has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level and IB.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Stanford Bulletin entry for the Art Practice BA and the Stanford Undergraduate Admission arts portfolio page and Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The Stanford Bulletin's requirement lists, the department website, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The major

What the Bulletin says the Art Practice BA is

The Bulletin describes a programme to develop contemporary art practice making skills and critical thinking about visual culture, with a minimum of 65 units within 180 university units. The coursework combines six lower-level studio courses, including a core studio foundation series, six upper-level courses including a major seminar and the capstone, and four art history or critical theory courses. Honours is a competitive, year-long programme open to majors in their senior year.

Is it the right major?

Art Practice beside Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature

Stanford lists these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Art Practice fits if

you want to make art and think critically about it, with a final exhibition.

Film and Media Studies fits if

you want critical or screenwriting work on cinema and media. Avandy's Stanford Film and Media Studies guide covers it.

Comparative Literature fits if

you want literature across languages. Avandy's Stanford Comparative Literature guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Stanford application, an SAT or ACT and A levels or the IB

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required and that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted. It does not have a preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula, and asks international applicants to complete the coursework needed for a bachelor's degree programme in their home country. The major is not a separate application. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Stanford's.

Is an Optional Arts Portfolio right for you?

Stanford says it is for students who want to highlight extraordinary talent; it is not required for the major.

Are you ready for a studio-heavy degree?

Twelve studio courses are required across lower and upper levels.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required and sets no minimum.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Stanford's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Stanford's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 2 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Stanford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Stanford for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and the Stanford Bulletin entry, and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Stanford University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Stanford University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Stanford Art Practice?

No. Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, department or school.

Do I need an arts portfolio to major in Art Practice?

No. Stanford says submitting an Optional Arts Portfolio does not require you to major in the arts, and students who do not submit one may still study or participate in the arts.

Can I apply directly to Art Practice at Stanford?

No. Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, department or school.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, and that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted.

Do A levels and the IB count?

Stanford says it does not have a preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Stanford's wording with no entry-year label. Check Stanford's pages again when Stanford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Stanford Art Practice

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether an optional arts portfolio suits them, how they would build a studio practice and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.