Undergraduate · Stanford

Stanford Computer Science: a major with specialisation subplans, not a separate admission

Stanford admits students to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, and Computer Science is one of its largest majors, taught in the School of Engineering. The Bulletin describes a core of programming and mathematics followed by subplans including Artificial Intelligence, Visual Computing, Human-Computer Interaction, Information, Systems, Theory and Unspecialized, plus a Computational Biology subplan. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are how the major is reached, what the Engineering requirements add and what Stanford requires, including the SAT or ACT. This guide claims no direct admission to Computer Science.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Stanford says about Stanford Computer Science

Taken from Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International Applicants pages and the Stanford Bulletin's Computer Science BS page, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Stanford's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Apply to the university, not a major

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole and are not bound by any prospective major you indicate.

Specialisation subplans

Artificial Intelligence, Visual Computing, Human-Computer Interaction, Information, Systems, Theory and Unspecialized, plus a Computational Biology subplan.

Engineering school requirements

Students also complete science and Technology in Society courses from the School of Engineering's approved lists.

AP credit for early mathematics

The Bulletin says AP credit may be used to satisfy Math 19, 20 and/or 21.

SAT or ACT required, no curriculum preference

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, with no minimum, and has no preference between A-Level, IB, AP or national curricula.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International Applicants pages and the Stanford Bulletin's Computer Science BS page, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Stanford's Computer Science department site, the subplan requirement tables, the Engineering-BS school requirements in full, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The major

What the Bulletin says Computer Science is

The Bulletin says the programme develops breadth across computer science, including the defining processes of theory, abstraction, design and implementation. After essential programming techniques and the mathematical foundations, students take a core and then follow a subplan: Artificial Intelligence, Visual Computing, Human-Computer Interaction, Information, Systems, Theory or Unspecialized, or a Computational Biology subplan with a different set of science and engineering fundamentals courses. Students also meet School of Engineering requirements, including science and Technology in Society courses. This guide did not read the subplan tables.

Is it the right major?

Computer Science, Symbolic Systems or MS&E

Stanford describes each as a separate major, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Computer Science fits if

you want computing in depth with a chosen specialisation.

Symbolic Systems fits if

you want computing combined with cognitive and linguistic questions. Avandy's Stanford Symbolic Systems guide covers it.

MS&E fits if

you want systems and decision analysis. Avandy's Stanford MS&E guide covers it.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT, no minimum, and no curriculum preference

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted, and that it has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Stanford's.

Which specialisation draws you?

The Bulletin lists seven subplans and a Computational Biology one.

Are you ready for programming and mathematics first?

The core starts with both.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says one is required.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Stanford's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Stanford's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Stanford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Stanford for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Bulletin's Computer Science page and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Stanford University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Stanford University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Stanford Computer Science?

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, department or school.

What subplans exist?

Artificial Intelligence, Visual Computing, Human-Computer Interaction, Information, Systems, Theory and Unspecialized, plus a Computational Biology subplan.

Can AP credit replace early mathematics?

The Bulletin says AP credit may be used to satisfy Math 19, 20 and/or 21.

Does Stanford prefer A-Levels or the IB?

Stanford says it has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, with no minimum.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Stanford's wording with no entry-year label. Check Stanford's pages again when Stanford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Stanford Computer Science

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics and programming, which specialisation attracts them and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.