Undergraduate · Stanford

Stanford Engineering Physics: 45 units of maths and physics, 35 of engineering

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, and Engineering Physics is a major for students with an aptitude for both engineering and physics. Stanford sets a heavy quantitative base, a core of advanced physics and engineering, and a specialty area. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to the major and treats it separately from the Aeronautics and Astronautics guide.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Stanford says about Stanford Engineering Physics

Taken from Stanford's Explore Majors page for Engineering Physics and Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Stanford's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after university-wide admission

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, and the majors you indicate do not bind you in any way. The pages read describe no separate application to Engineering Physics.

A heavy base

At least 45 units of maths and physics and 35 units of engineering.

Seven specialty areas

Including Aerospace Physics, Biophysics and Quantum Science and Engineering.

Placement diagnostics

All students take the Physics and Math Placement Diagnostics.

The SAT or ACT is required

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required and sets no minimum. It has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level and IB.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on Stanford's Explore Majors page for Engineering Physics and Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The Stanford Bulletin's requirement lists, the department website, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The major

What Stanford says the major is

Stanford's major page says Engineering Physics students begin with at least a year of mathematics and calculus-based physics and then take depth courses in mathematics, physics, engineering and design plus electives in a specialty area: Aerospace Physics, Biophysics, Computational Science, Electromechanical System Design, Materials Science, Quantum Science and Engineering or Renewable Energy. The core adds advanced mathematics, electrodynamics, quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, numerical methods, an electronics lab and a project design course. The programme requires at least 45 units of mathematics and physics and 35 of engineering. This guide does not list every course.

Is it the right major?

Engineering Physics beside Aeronautics and Astronautics and Chemistry

Stanford lists these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Engineering Physics fits if

you want physics and mathematics at depth with engineering design.

Aeronautics and Astronautics fits if

you want aerospace as the core. Avandy's Stanford Aeronautics and Astronautics guide covers it.

Chemistry fits if

you want molecular science. Avandy's Stanford Chemistry guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Stanford application, an SAT or ACT and A levels or the IB

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required and that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted. It does not have a preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula, and asks international applicants to complete the coursework needed for a bachelor's degree programme in their home country. The major is not a separate application. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Stanford's.

Which specialty area interests you?

Seven are named.

Is a heavy mathematics and physics load acceptable?

The programme requires 45 units of both.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Stanford's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Stanford's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Stanford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Stanford for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and the Stanford Bulletin entry, and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Stanford University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Stanford University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Stanford Engineering Physics?

No. Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, department or school.

Are there placement tests?

The page says all students take the Physics and Math Placement Diagnostics.

Which specialties exist?

Aerospace Physics, Biophysics, Computational Science, Electromechanical System Design, Materials Science, Quantum Science and Engineering and Renewable Energy.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, and that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted.

Do A levels and the IB count?

Stanford says it does not have a preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Stanford's wording with no entry-year label. Check Stanford's pages again when Stanford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Stanford Engineering Physics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their physics and mathematics, how they weigh engineering physics against pure physics and aerospace routes and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.