Undergraduate · Stanford

Stanford Management Science and Engineering: systems, optimisation and organisations

Stanford admits students to the university as a whole, not to a major, and Management Science and Engineering (MS&E) is one of its engineering majors. The Bulletin describes engineering systems analysis for complex economic and technical management systems, a core in modelling, optimisation, probability, statistics, ethics, computing and economics, application areas, and a senior capstone. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are what the major is, what mathematics it expects (the Bulletin names IB unit credits) and what Stanford requires, including the SAT or ACT. This guide claims no direct admission to MS&E.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Stanford says about Stanford Management Science and Engineering

Taken from Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International Applicants pages and the Stanford Bulletin's Management Science and Engineering BS page, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Stanford's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Apply to the university, not a major

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole and are not bound by any prospective major you indicate.

A modelling-and-economics core

Mathematical modeling, systems analysis, organization theory, optimization, probability, statistics, ethics, computing and economics lead to a senior capstone.

Application areas

Operations and Analytics, and Organizations, Technology, and Policy are among the areas students choose from.

IB unit credits named

The Bulletin says six AP Calculus AB or IB unit credits earn credit for MATH 19 and 20, starting students at MATH 21.

SAT or ACT required, no curriculum preference

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, with no minimum, and has no preference between A-Level, IB, AP or national curricula.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Stanford Undergraduate Admission's First-Year, Testing and International Applicants pages and the Stanford Bulletin's Management Science and Engineering BS page, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Stanford's MS&E department site, the full depth-area course lists, the senior capstone detail, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The major

What the Bulletin says MS&E is

The Bulletin describes engineering systems analysis to plan, design and implement complex economic and technical management systems. The core covers mathematical modeling, systems analysis, organization theory, optimization, probability, statistics, ethics, computer science and economics, then a senior capstone. Students choose application areas such as Operations and Analytics, which focuses on algorithms and the analysis of production and service systems, and Organizations, Technology, and Policy. Students considering the major should begin taking calculus, computer science and economics. This guide did not read the course lists.

Is it the right major?

MS&E, Computer Science or Economics

Stanford describes each as a separate major, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

MS&E fits if

you want quantitative systems and decision analysis with an economics and organisations dimension.

Computer Science fits if

your interest is computing itself. Avandy's Stanford Computer Science guide covers it.

Economics fits if

you want economic theory and research; this guide did not read the Economics pages.

Admission and testing

SAT or ACT, no minimum, and no curriculum preference

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, that there are no minimum test scores required to be admitted, and that it has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula. Once enrolled, the Bulletin's rule on AP Calculus AB or IB unit credits applies. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Stanford's.

Do you enjoy modelling and optimisation?

They are central to the core.

Which application area appeals?

Operations and Analytics differs from Organizations, Technology, and Policy.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says one is required.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Stanford's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Stanford's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Stanford has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Stanford for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Bulletin's MS&E page and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Stanford University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Stanford University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Stanford MS&E?

Stanford says you apply to the university as a whole, not to a particular major, department or school.

What should I study first?

The Bulletin says students considering MS&E should begin taking courses in calculus, computer science and economics.

Does the IB earn mathematics credit?

The Bulletin says students with six AP Calculus AB or IB unit credits receive credit for MATH 19 and 20 and begin with MATH 21.

Does Stanford prefer A-Levels or the IB?

Stanford says it has no preference for a specific curriculum, naming A-Level, IB, AP and national curricula.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Stanford says ACT or SAT scores are required, with no minimum.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Stanford's wording with no entry-year label. Check Stanford's pages again when Stanford publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Stanford Management Science and Engineering

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics, which application area interests them and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.