Doctoral · UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering

UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering PhD: any relevant subject, two supervisors

The UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering PhD takes a UK master's, or an upper second-class UK Bachelor's, and says the qualification may be in any relevant subject, such as electronic engineering, communication engineering, computer science, chemistry or materials science. You carry out a project under an academic expert, normally within a research group, with regular meetings with a primary supervisor and contact with a subsidiary supervisor. For an engineering graduate, the decision is whether your degree counts as relevant and which research domain fits. This guide sets out what UCL says for 2027/28 entry, marks Avandy's judgment separately and ends with next steps.

Official information · last verified for 2027-28 entry

What UCL asks for in UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering PhD

Taken from the UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering MPhil/PhD course page (2027/28 entry), supplied as full text in the Central evidence handoff and read on 1 November 2026. The page describes 2027-28 entry. For a 2028-29 start, applied for in 2027-28, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; UCL's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.

A Master's or a 2:1 Bachelor's

UCL lists a UK master's, or an upper second-class UK Bachelor's, or an overseas equivalent.

Any relevant subject

The qualification may be in electronic engineering, communication engineering, computer science, chemistry or materials science, among others.

Primary and subsidiary supervisors

Students meet a primary supervisor regularly and have contact with a subsidiary supervisor.

Contact supervisors first

In most cases UCL says to identify and contact potential supervisors before applying.

Two references

The course requires two references.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering MPhil/PhD course page (2027/28 entry), supplied as full text in the Central evidence handoff, which describes 2027-28 entry. Imperial's deadline, fee and funding tables, scholarship pages, the department's research pages and the University's application guidance were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.

The decision

Does your degree route and plan fit what UCL lists?

This guide concerns only the UCL research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the course page says.

It fits if

your degree is in electronic engineering or a closely related subject and you can describe a research topic among UCL's domains.

Think again if

you have no supervisor in mind. UCL says that in most cases you should contact potential supervisors first.

Check the page

UCL's course page is the source; module and fee details change by cycle and are not stated here.

How the application is read

What UCL says about entry and applying

UCL says deadlines and start dates may be dictated by funding arrangements, that in most cases you should identify and contact potential supervisors before making your application, that the course requires two references and that you may submit applications for a maximum of two graduate courses in any application cycle.

How the degree runs

Structure and working pattern

UCL describes a substantial piece of supervised original research, normally within a research group, with a primary supervisor and a subsidiary supervisor. The department's research falls into domain areas including control systems, machine learning, nanotechnology, communications systems, large-scale networks, robotics and novel materials, and UCL says it has over 100 PhD students. This is the 2027/28 page and may change.

Avandy's judgment

Where an application can go wrong

These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not UCL rules and carry no probability.

Assuming the degree must be electronic engineering

UCL says any relevant subject may qualify, including computer science, chemistry and materials science.

Applying without a supervisor

UCL says that in most cases you should contact potential supervisors first.

Over-applying

UCL limits applications to two graduate courses per cycle.

Late references

The course requires two references.

Next steps

A sensible order of work

The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.

Check your degree route

Compare your degrees with the stated entry requirement.

Define the research question

Write down the electronic and electrical engineering question you want to pursue.

Find a supervisor or group

Read the department's research pages and identify who could supervise.

Plan the application

Read UCL's application guidance for the cycle you apply in.

Planning for 2028-29 entry

Planning for 2028-29 entry: what carries over and what awaits publication

UCL's course page describes entry in 2027-28. A start in 2028-29 means applying in the 2027-28 cycle, under rules UCL has not yet published. Each item below is either last verified for 2027-28 entry, which means UCL published it for the previous cycle and it may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.

The structure of the route and the application

The entry standard, the application items and the research-degree structure are described on Imperial's pages for the 2027-28 cycle. Imperial has not published the following cycle.

Deadlines, places, funding and fees

This guide states none of them. Imperial publishes them per cycle; read them again when they show 2028-29.

What to do now

Check your degree route against UCL's entry requirement, define your electronic and electrical engineering research question and identify a supervisor.

Support

Independent support with the research statement and fit

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with University College London or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

What does the UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering PhD ask for?

The entry requirement is a UK master's, or an upper second-class UK Bachelor's, or an equivalent overseas qualification.

How is the degree structured?

The MPhil/PhD allows a substantial piece of supervised original research.

Does UCL state a deadline here?

This guide states no deadline, fee or funding, because UCL publishes them per cycle. Check the course page for the cycle you apply in.

Does the degree include funding?

This guide did not use UCL's fees and funding section and states no funding.

Students and families

Talk to us about the UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering PhD

Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.