Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale Cognitive Science: how the mind works, entered after arrival

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and Cognitive Science is one of the majors they can apply to once they are enrolled. Yale's catalogue frames the field as understanding how the mind works through psychology, computer science, linguistics, philosophy, economics and neuroscience. For an A-level or IB applicant, the useful questions are how the major is built, how it differs from the computing, economics and biomedical majors Avandy has already covered, and what Yale says about testing.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale Cognitive Science

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study entry for Cognitive Science and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major applied to after the first year

Yale says every student begins undeclared, and the catalogue says students may apply to enter Cognitive Science at any point after the first year.

Four of seven breadth areas

Each major takes a course from four of seven areas, which are computer science, economics and decision making, linguistics, neuroscience, philosophy, psychology and anthropology.

Six courses of depth from at least two disciplines

Students choose a specific topic and complete six courses on it, drawn from at least two disciplines.

B.S. or B.A., the same except the senior requirement

The B.S. senior requirement is empirical research and the B.A. senior requirement is nonempirical research.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study entry for Cognitive Science and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the major is

Yale's catalogue describes cognitive science as exploring perception, reasoning, memory, attention, language, decision making and problem solving, and draws on empirical development studies, adult experiments, pathology, computational and robotic work, neuroscience and philosophy of mind. The major needs fifteen term courses, which include an introductory survey, a junior colloquium and a senior requirement, and a student's course choices are approved by the director of undergraduate studies. This guide does not list individual courses beyond the catalogue's own summary.

Is it the right major?

Cognitive Science beside other Yale majors

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general and covers only majors Avandy has already published.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want psychology, computation, language and philosophy brought to one question about the mind, with a self-chosen six-course focus.

Computer Science and Economics fits if

you want computation applied to economic data and markets. Avandy's Yale Computer Science and Economics guide covers it.

Biomedical Engineering fits if

your interest is engineering medicine rather than the mind. Avandy's Yale Biomedical Engineering guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. International applicants complete the same applications and fulfil the same requirements as other applicants, and the pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. Cognitive Science is not a separate application: the catalogue says students apply to the major after the first year. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Which question about the mind would you pick for your six-course depth?

The depth requirement asks students to choose a topic and draw on at least two disciplines.

Are you comfortable applying to the major later?

Yale students are undeclared until the end of sophomore year, and the catalogue names an application after the first year.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Cognitive Science entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale Cognitive Science?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared, and the catalogue says they may apply to enter the major at any point after the first year.

Does the major lead to a B.S. or a B.A.?

Either. The catalogue says the requirements are the same except for the senior requirement, which is empirical research for the B.S. and nonempirical research for the B.A.

How many courses does the major need?

Fifteen term courses, for thirteen and one half course credits, including the introductory course and the senior requirement.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale Cognitive Science

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics, how they weigh psychology against computing, linguistics and philosophy and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.