Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale English: foundational courses, four periods and a two-term senior requirement

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and English is a major they can choose once enrolled. Yale's catalogue says the programme cultivates powers of argument and analysis, requires at least fourteen courses including three foundational courses and a course in each of four historical periods, and ends in a two-term senior requirement. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to English.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale English

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for English Language & Literature and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after arrival

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors. The pages read describe no separate application to English.

Three foundational courses

Majors take three of the four foundational courses, ENGL 1025 to 1028, or approved substitutes.

Four historical periods

At least one course in each of Medieval, Renaissance, 18th/19th century and 20th/21st century.

Creative writing is available

The introductory creative writing course is open to any student who has not taken an intermediate or advanced course in fiction, poetry or drama.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for English Language & Literature and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the English major is

Yale's catalogue says the undergraduate programme in English cultivates students' powers of argument and analysis while developing their understanding of important works of English, American and world literatures in English. At least fourteen courses are required, including three foundational courses, at least one course in each of four historical periods, a literature seminar in both junior and senior years and the senior requirement. All English courses are open to majors and nonmajors, and the department offers creative writing courses, with a creative writing concentration for majors.

Is it the right major?

English beside History and Philosophy

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

English fits if

you want to read widely in English-language literatures and write, with a structured sequence of periods.

History fits if

you want to study the past through primary sources. Avandy's Yale History guide covers it.

Philosophy fits if

you want conceptual argument. Avandy's Yale Philosophy guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements, and the admissions pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. The major is chosen after admission, not applied for separately. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Do you want a broad or period-based reading programme?

The major requires courses in four historical periods.

Is creative writing part of your interest?

Majors may count up to two designated creative writing courses.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the English Language & Literature entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale English?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

How many courses does the English major require?

At least fourteen, including the senior requirement.

Can majors take creative writing?

Yes. The catalogue says majors may count up to two designated creative writing courses, and the department offers a creative writing concentration.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale English

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their reading and writing, their interest in creative writing, and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.