Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale History of Art: twelve courses across places and periods, with a methods seminar

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and History of Art is a major they can choose once enrolled. Yale's catalogue defines art history as the study of all forms of art, architecture and visual culture in their social and historical contexts and requires twelve term courses with geographic and chronological distribution, a junior methods seminar and a senior essay. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to History of Art.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale History of Art

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for History of Art and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after arrival

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors. The pages read describe no separate application to History of Art.

Twelve term courses

Two introductory courses, four intermediate and advanced courses, two seminars, a methods seminar, two electives and the senior essay.

Four places and four periods

The intermediate and advanced courses must be chosen from four geographical areas and four time periods.

AP acceleration

Students who took the Advanced Placement test in art history may earn acceleration credit.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for History of Art and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the History of Art major is

Yale's catalogue defines art history as the study of all forms of art, architecture and visual culture in their social and historical contexts and says the major can serve as a general humanities programme or as groundwork for specialised training. Twelve term courses are required: two introductory, four intermediate and advanced, two seminars, the junior methods seminar HSAR 4401, two electives and the senior essay HSAR 4499. The six intermediate and advanced courses must satisfy geographic and chronological distribution requirements across five areas and five time segments.

Is it the right major?

History of Art beside History and English

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

History of Art fits if

you want works, buildings and visual culture studied in context, across places and periods.

History fits if

you want written primary sources. Avandy's Yale History guide covers it.

English fits if

you want literature. Avandy's Yale English guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements, and the admissions pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. The major is chosen after admission, not applied for separately. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Do you want breadth across places and periods?

The major requires four geographical areas and four time periods.

Did you take AP Art History?

The catalogue says it may earn acceleration credit.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the History of Art entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale History of Art?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

How many courses does the major require?

Twelve term courses, including a junior methods seminar and the senior essay.

Does AP Art History count?

The catalogue says students who took the Advanced Placement test may earn acceleration credit and, with the DUS, substitute an upper-level class for one required 1000-level course.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale History of Art

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their interest in art, architecture and visual culture, and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.