Both tests are optional
The page lists the GRE and the Physics Subject Test as optional.
Doctoral · Yale Physics
The Yale Physics PhD page lists the GRE and the GRE Subject Test in Physics as optional. The Bulletin then fixes a six-course core running from classical mechanics and electromagnetic theory through two quantum mechanics courses to statistical physics, plus a research course, two seminars and one elective. For an applicant the useful point is that the course core is standardised, while the tests are not.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Physics PhD programme page and the Yale Bulletin entry for the Ph.D. in Physics and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Yale's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The page lists the GRE and the Physics Subject Test as optional.
They include classical mechanics, electromagnetic theory, quantum mechanics and statistical physics.
Students take one research course, two seminars and one elective.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Physics PhD programme page and the Yale Bulletin entry for the Ph.D. in Physics, which carries no entry-year label. The department website, the application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Yale research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you have the physics grounding to start on a standard graduate core and are deciding whether to send optional scores.
you read optional as discouraged. The page says optional, and no threshold is stated.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The programme page lists the GRE and the GRE Subject Test in Physics as optional and asks most applicants whose native language is not English for TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic, with a residence-based exemption. The Bulletin entry gives the course structure. This guide states no deadline or funding term.
How the programme runs
To complete the course requirements, students take one research course, two seminar courses, six foundational courses and one elective. The core courses are Advanced Classical Mechanics, Electromagnetic Theory I, Mathematical Methods of Physics, Quantum Mechanics I and II, and Statistical Physics I. This page carries no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Yale rules and carry no probability.
Both listed tests are optional.
Six foundational courses are named by the Bulletin.
A research course is part of the course requirements.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Yale's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Yale has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Yale's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Yale has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Yale publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
To complete the course requirements students take one research course, two seminar courses and seven credit-hour courses: six foundational courses and one elective.
The GRE is optional and the GRE Subject Test in Physics is optional.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Yale's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.