The GRE is required
The programme page states that the GRE is required.
Doctoral · Yale Psychology
The Yale Psychology PhD page states that the GRE is required and notes combined PhDs with Black Studies and Philosophy. The Bulletin keeps formal requirements to a minimum but names two research milestones, a first-year project and a pre-dissertation project, then a theme essay and dissertation prospectus in the third year, and teaching in four courses by the end of the fourth year.
Official information · no entry-year label on the page
Taken from the Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Psychology PhD programme page and the Yale Bulletin entry for the Ph.D. in Psychology and read on 2 November 2026. The page carries no entry-year label, so every value below is treated as previous-cycle evidence for a 2028-29 start; Yale's requirements, dates and funding for 2028-29 are awaiting publication, and none is stated here.
The programme page states that the GRE is required.
A first-year project and a pre-dissertation project precede candidacy.
The page notes combined PhDs with Black Studies and Philosophy.
Official sources
Read on 2 November 2026 on the Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Psychology PhD programme page and the Yale Bulletin entry for the Ph.D. in Psychology, which carries no entry-year label. The department website, the application portal, deadlines, funding and the English-test scores were not used and are not stated. No deadline, fee, funding amount or place number is stated.
The decision
This guide concerns only the Yale research degree. The reading below is Avandy's judgment (heuristic), built from what the programme page says.
you want to start research in the first year and are comfortable with a required GRE and early teaching.
you want a heavily coursework-driven degree. The Bulletin keeps the formal requirements to a minimum.
The Graduate School's programme page is the source; deadlines, funding and score thresholds change by cycle and are not stated here.
How the application is read
The programme page lists the GRE as required, mentions combined PhD routes, and asks most applicants whose native language is not English for TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic, with a residence-based exemption. The Bulletin gives the post-admission requirements. This guide states no deadline or funding term.
How the programme runs
Students take core courses by the end of the second year, complete a first-year research project and a pre-dissertation project, submit a dissertation prospectus and a theme essay in the third year, and assist in teaching four courses by the end of the fourth year. There are no language requirements. This page carries no entry-year label.
Avandy's judgment
These points are Avandy's heuristic reading of the page. They are not Yale rules and carry no probability.
Two research projects come before the third year.
The page notes combined PhDs with Black Studies and Philosophy.
Assisting in teaching four courses is a requirement.
Next steps
The order is Avandy's suggestion, built from the page's own steps.
Compare your coursework and experience with the stated expectations.
Draft the statements and writing sample the page asks for, in the formats it lists.
Check which tests are required, optional or not accepted.
Read the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
Planning for 2028-29 entry
Yale's programme page carries no entry-year label. A start in 2028-29 means applying under rules Yale has not yet published. Each item below is either read on the page and treated as previous-cycle wording, which may change, or awaiting publication for 2028-29 entry.
The expectations, the written work and the test policy are described on Yale's programme page, which carries no entry-year label. Yale has not published the following cycle.
This guide states none of them. Yale publishes them per cycle; read the page again for the cycle you apply in.
Check your record against the programme page, prepare the written work it lists and plan any required test.
Support
Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale University or any of its departments, and it has no relationship with any member of staff. Support sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant and a PhD-level Academic Mentor help the applicant test a research idea against the department's published research areas and plan their own statement. Support here is limited to testing a research idea against the department's published research themes and planning the applicant's own statements; it does not extend to contacting staff on the applicant's behalf. Avandy does not write or submit any part of an application, cannot arrange a supervisor and promises no outcome or funding.
Questions
Students assist in teaching four courses by the end of their fourth year.
The GRE is required.
No. The page carries no entry-year label and this guide states no deadline, fee or funding. Check the programme page for the cycle you apply in.
This guide did not use Yale's funding sections and states no funding.
Students and families
Tell us about your degrees, your research experience, the research question you want to pursue and the supervisors or groups you have in mind. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to develop the research statement.