Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale Statistics and Data Science: B.A. or B.S., chosen after arriving

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and Statistics and Data Science is one of the majors they may choose by the end of sophomore year, as either a B.A. or a B.S. The Programs of Study entry describes mathematical and practical foundations, eleven courses for the B.A. and fourteen for the B.S., and multivariable calculus before or during sophomore year. For an A-level or IB applicant, the questions are what the major contains, which degree fits and what Yale requires of every applicant. This guide claims no direct admission to the major.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale Statistics and Data Science

Taken from Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages and the Yale College Programs of Study entry for Statistics and Data Science, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen by the end of sophomore year

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors.

B.A. or B.S.

The B.A. acquaints students with fundamental techniques; the B.S. prepares them for research or graduate study in data science.

Eleven or fourteen courses

The B.A. requires eleven courses and the B.S. fourteen, including all the B.A. requirements.

Multivariable calculus

It is required and should be taken before or during the sophomore year.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 31 October 2026 on Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages and the Yale College Programs of Study entry for Statistics and Data Science, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department site, the full course lists behind each discipline area, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What Yale's Programs of Study says

The entry describes statistics as the science and art of prediction and explanation, founded on probability and applied to inference and decisions under uncertainty, with data science expanding on it. Majors take mathematical and practical courses across seven discipline areas: mathematical foundations, core probability and statistics, computational skills, methods of data science and others. Introductory courses assume high-school mathematics only, and students are encouraged to take S&DS 2200 or a 1000-level course followed by S&DS 2300. This guide did not read the course lists.

Is it the right major?

Statistics and Data Science, Computer Science or Economics

Yale describes each as a separate major, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Statistics and Data Science fits if

you want probability, inference and data methods as a discipline.

Computer Science and Economics fits if

you want a joint major. Avandy's Yale Computer Science and Economics guide covers it.

The B.S. fits if

you aim at research or graduate study; the B.A. fits a broader introduction.

Testing and qualifications

SAT or ACT required; A-levels and the IB are not named

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements. The pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name, and this guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Do you enjoy probability and data?

They are the major's mathematical foundation.

B.A. or B.S.?

Eleven or fourteen courses, with different aims.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT?

Yale requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Programs of Study entry and plan the SAT or ACT.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale Statistics and Data Science?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

What is the difference between the B.A. and the B.S.?

The B.A. requires eleven courses and acquaints students with fundamental techniques; the B.S. requires fourteen and prepares students for research or graduate study.

Is calculus required?

Multivariable calculus is required and should be taken before or during the sophomore year.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale Statistics and Data Science

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their mathematics, whether they would take the B.A. or B.S. and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.