Undergraduate · Cornell CALS

Cornell Animal Science: hands-on from semester one, with a veterinary pathway

Cornell asks applicants to apply directly to one of its colleges, and Animal Science is listed under the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The department's undergraduate page describes hands-on work with animals from the first semester and states six learning outcomes that run from nutrition, physiology and genetics to animal welfare and the environmental impact of animal agriculture. It also describes a seven-year BS/DVM pathway with the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Animal Science

Taken from the Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Animal Science undergraduate studies page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Animal Science under Cornell CALS (the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences).

Hands-on from the first semester

Students can work directly with animals in their first semester.

Six stated learning outcomes

They cover nutrition, physiology, genetics, welfare, environmental impact and communication.

A BS/DVM pathway

CALS and the College of Veterinary Medicine describe a seven-year accelerated route.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Animal Science undergraduate studies page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The major's curriculum pages, course descriptions, college admission requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the department says the Animal Science major is

The department describes a major in animal biology and management that explores the challenges of today's animal systems. Its stated outcomes are applying integrated principles of nutrition, physiology and genetics to animal health and production, hands-on care of farm and companion animals, applying animal welfare principles, articulating the environmental impacts of animal agriculture, communicating scientific content and analytical thinking. Minors and a BS/DVM pathway sit alongside the major. The pages read do not set out credit requirements.

Is it the right major?

Animal Science beside Agricultural Sciences and Environment & Sustainability

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Animal Science fits if

you want animal biology, care and management as the subject, with a veterinary route in view.

Agricultural Sciences fits if

you want a broader agricultural grounding. Avandy's Cornell Agricultural Sciences guide covers it.

Environment & Sustainability fits if

you want environmental problems as the frame. Avandy's Cornell Environment and Sustainability guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A college application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application; the pages read list Animal Science under Cornell CALS (the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences). Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Is veterinary medicine your aim?

The page describes a seven-year BS/DVM pathway with the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Do you want hands-on animal work?

The page says students can work directly with animals in their first semester.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires scores from first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Animal Science in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Cornell CALS (the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences).

Which Cornell college is Animal Science in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Cornell CALS, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Is there a route to veterinary school?

The department page describes a seven-year BS/DVM pathway established with the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Animal Science

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether they want animal science for veterinary medicine or for production and welfare, and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.