Undergraduate · Cornell Duffield Engineering

Cornell Engineering Physics: physics and mathematics in an engineering context

Cornell applicants apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, and Engineering Physics is a major in Cornell Duffield Engineering, taught by the School of Applied and Engineering Physics. The school describes a deep dive into fast-evolving technology by combining physics and mathematics in an engineering context. This guide sets out what the page says.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Engineering Physics

Taken from the School of Applied and Engineering Physics' Engineering Physics major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Engineering Physics under Duffield Engineering.

Physics plus maths plus engineering

The programme combines them in an engineering setting.

Practical skills

Experimental and theoretical work in mathematics and physics.

Flexible electives

Students tailor the path with electives and lab courses.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the School of Applied and Engineering Physics' Engineering Physics major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The major's curriculum pages, course descriptions, college admission requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the college and department pages say the major is

The school's page says the Bachelor of Science in Engineering Physics offers a deep dive into rapidly evolving technology by combining physics and mathematics in an engineering context, with fields from quantum information science, photonics and nanotechnology to astrophysics, fusion and plasma physics and condensed matter. Students cultivate practical, experimental and theoretical skills and tailor their path through flexible electives and lab courses. This guide does not list the curriculum, which it did not read.

Is it the right major?

Engineering Physics beside Electrical and Computer Engineering and Materials

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Engineering Physics fits if

you want physics applied to technology, with research-style fields.

Electrical and Computer Engineering fits if

you want electronics and computing. Avandy's Cornell ECE guide covers it.

Materials Science and Engineering fits if

you want materials. Avandy's Cornell MSE guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A college application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application; the pages read list Engineering Physics under Duffield Engineering. Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Which of the named fields interests you?

The page lists quantum, photonics, nano, astrophysics and fusion among others.

Do you want a Duffield Engineering application?

The major is listed there.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Engineering Physics in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Duffield Engineering.

Which college is Engineering Physics in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under Duffield Engineering.

Is it flexible?

The school says students tailor their path through electives and lab courses.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Engineering Physics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their physics and mathematics, how they weigh engineering physics against pure physics and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.