Undergraduate · Cornell CALS and A&S

Cornell Environment & Sustainability: one major, two colleges, six concentrations

Cornell asks applicants to apply directly to one of its colleges, and Environment & Sustainability is listed under both the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the College of Arts and Sciences. The CALS page describes a cross-college major with core courses and six concentrations that give depth from environmental science and environmental studies perspectives. The applicant's first decision is therefore which college to apply through.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Environment and Sustainability

Taken from the Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Environment & Sustainability major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Environment & Sustainability under both Cornell CALS and the College of Arts and Sciences.

A cross-college major

It is a collaboration between CALS and the College of Arts and Sciences.

Core courses, then six concentrations

Concentrations give depth in environmental science and environmental studies perspectives.

Environmental justice in view

The page says it fosters awareness of links between environmental degradation and inequities.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on the Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Environment & Sustainability major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The major's curriculum pages, course descriptions, college admission requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the CALS page says the major is

The page describes a major that spans the perspectives needed to build more sustainable environmental conditions, offered as a cross-college major in CALS and Arts and Sciences. Core courses provide fundamental understanding of environment and sustainability issues, and six concentrations provide depth. The page emphasises active, engaged and experiential learning. The pages read do not name the six concentrations or set out credit requirements, so this guide states none.

Is it the right major?

Environment & Sustainability beside Animal Science and Environmental Engineering

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Environment & Sustainability fits if

you want environmental problems studied from science and social-science angles, with a choice of college.

Animal Science fits if

you want animal biology as the subject. Avandy's Cornell Animal Science guide covers it.

Environmental Engineering fits if

you want an engineering route. Avandy's Cornell Environmental Engineering guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A college application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application; the pages read list Environment & Sustainability under both Cornell CALS and the College of Arts and Sciences. Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

CALS or Arts and Sciences?

The majors list shows the major under both, and the college is part of the application.

Environmental science or environmental studies?

The six concentrations span both perspectives.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires scores from first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 31 October 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Environment & Sustainability in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under both Cornell CALS and the College of Arts and Sciences.

Which Cornell college offers Environment & Sustainability?

Cornell Admissions lists it under both CALS and the College of Arts and Sciences, and the CALS page calls it a cross-college major.

How many concentrations are there?

The CALS page says six concentrations provide depth, but the pages read do not name them.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Environment and Sustainability

Tell us about the student's curriculum, which college they would apply through, whether they lean towards environmental science or environmental studies and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.