Undergraduate · Imperial Electrical Engineering

Imperial Electrical and Electronic Engineering MEng: entry and the ESAT

Imperial's Electrical and Electronic Engineering MEng asks for Mathematics and Physics at the top grade, a three-module ESAT and, for those who are shortlisted, an online interview. Its rules differ from Imperial's Mechanical Engineering course in ways that matter, including whether an ATAS certificate is needed. This guide is written for families planning 2028 entry. Everything cycle-specific in it was last verified for 2027 entry, so treat it as the best guide to preparation and not as the 2028 requirement.

Official information · last verified for 2027 entry

What Imperial asks for in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Taken from Imperial's official Electrical and Electronic Engineering MEng course page and read on 21 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Imperial's 2028-entry requirements and dates are awaiting publication.

A*A*A or A*AAA, with Mathematics and Physics

The minimum A-level standard is A*A*A or A*AAA, to include an A* in Mathematics and an A or A* in Physics (A* when applying with three A levels, at least an A with four). The typical offer is A*A*A with three A levels and A*AAA with four, and typical offers can be higher than the minimum. General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted, and an offer-holder must pass the practical endorsement in all science subjects that form part of the offer.

Further Mathematics is encouraged, not essential

Imperial says Further Mathematics is strongly encouraged but not essential.

The IB: 40 points with 7s, typical offer 41

The minimum IB standard is 40 points, to include 7 in Mathematics and 7 in Physics at Higher Level, and the typical offer is 41 points. Imperial accepts both IB Mathematics syllabi at Higher Level, but says Analysis and Approaches is preferred.

The ESAT is compulsory: Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics

Applicants must sit the Engineering and Science Admissions Test (ESAT) as part of the application. The three modules are Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics, and each has 27 multiple-choice questions and lasts 40 minutes.

An online interview of 25 to 30 minutes

The interview is 25 to 30 minutes with a member of academic staff. Imperial says it aims for it to be more of a conversation, asks questions to understand your thought process and how you solve problems, and asks about your motivation for the course.

No ATAS certificate, and a shared first year

Imperial says an ATAS certificate is not required for students applying for this course. Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Electronic and Information Engineering share a common first year, and the choice of stream is made at the end of it, based on performance in the related modules.

Official sources

Read on 21 October 2026 on Imperial's Electrical and Electronic Engineering MEng course page, which describes 2027 entry. The 2025 applications-to-places ratio quoted in the guide is history, not a requirement. ESAT sittings and booking windows are cycle-specific and are not stated. Other Imperial engineering departments were not read.

The course

A four-year MEng with a shared first year

The course is a four-year MEng delivered by Imperial's Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, starting in October of the entry year. It has a variant with a year abroad. Imperial says Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Electronic and Information Engineering students share a common first year and choose a stream at the end of it, so the first year is a way to explore both before committing. Imperial's UCAS code for the MEng is H604.

Reading the offer

Mathematics and Physics are both specified

Imperial specifies both subjects, and it matters how many A levels you take.

Three A levels or four

With three A levels Imperial asks for A*A*A including an A* in Mathematics and an A* in Physics. With four it asks for A*AAA including an A* in Mathematics and at least an A in Physics.

Typical offers are higher than the minimum

The typical offer is A*A*A with three A levels and A*AAA with four, and Imperial says typical offers can be higher than the minimum entry requirements. Plan towards the typical offer, not the minimum.

Further Mathematics

Imperial strongly encourages Further Mathematics but says it is not essential. If your school offers it and the student can do it well, it is the course's own stated preference.

The IB

Imperial's minimum is 40 points including 7 in Higher Level Mathematics and Physics, and the typical offer is 41 points. Both IB Mathematics syllabi are accepted at Higher Level, with Analysis and Approaches preferred.

The ESAT

Three modules, all compulsory

Imperial says applicants must sit the ESAT as part of the application, and that the three modules for this course are Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics. Each has 27 multiple-choice questions and lasts 40 minutes. Check which modules each course on your list requires before you book, because the choice of modules is made at booking. The ESAT is run by University Admissions Tests UK, and its sittings and booking windows change each cycle, so they are not stated here.

The interview

A conversation about how you think

If your application suggests you are likely to meet the requirements, your personal statement shows a clear interest in the subject and you perform well in the ESAT, you may be invited to an online interview of 25 to 30 minutes with a member of academic staff.

Expect problems, not trivia

Imperial says it asks questions to understand your thought process and see how you solve problems, so rehearse working through problems aloud.

Know why you want this course

The interviewer also asks about your motivation for the course. Be ready to explain what led you to electrical and electronic engineering.

Expect a long wait

For 2027 entry Imperial warned that it accepted applications until the end of January and continued to make decisions until the end of March, so applicants might not hear anything until March even if they applied early.

International applicants

No ATAS certificate for this course

Imperial says an ATAS certificate is not required for students applying for this course. That differs from its Mechanical Engineering course, where Imperial says an ATAS certificate is needed unless you are from an exempt nationality. ATAS is a UK government scheme, so check the current rules for your own situation and do not read the rule across between departments.

Context

How competitive the course has been

Imperial's page shows 8 applications for every place for 2025. That is a historical figure about a past cohort. It is not a requirement and it does not predict any individual result.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Imperial has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Imperial published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Imperial has not yet published it.

Grades, subject rules, the ESAT modules and the interview format: last verified for 2027 entry

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Imperial has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Application deadline, ESAT sittings and booking windows: awaiting publication for 2028 entry

Check Imperial's course page and the test provider's key dates for the 2028-entry values when they appear.

What to do now

Plan Mathematics and Physics at the top grade, consider Further Mathematics where it is available, and start collecting concrete electrical and electronic engineering experience to talk about in the statement and interview.

Support

Independent support with course strategy and preparation

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Imperial College London or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor working within one advisory plan. Support is tailored to the student, and no outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Is the ESAT compulsory for Imperial Electrical and Electronic Engineering?

Yes. Imperial says applicants must sit the ESAT as part of the application, with the modules Mathematics 1, Mathematics 2 and Physics. That was Imperial's rule for 2027 entry.

What A levels does Imperial ask for?

A*A*A or A*AAA, to include an A* in Mathematics and an A or A* in Physics (A* when applying with three A levels). This is Imperial's wording for 2027 entry.

Is there an interview?

Yes, for applicants who are invited. The interview is 25 to 30 minutes with a member of academic staff and is held online.

Do international applicants need an ATAS certificate?

Imperial says an ATAS certificate is not required for students applying for this course. Its Mechanical Engineering course is different, so check each course separately.

Is Further Mathematics required?

No. Imperial strongly encourages Further Mathematics but says it is not essential.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Imperial's wording for the 2027 application cycle. Check the course page again when Imperial publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Imperial Electrical Engineering

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their Mathematics and Physics, whether Further Mathematics is available, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.