Undergraduate · Imperial Mathematics

Imperial Mathematics BSc: entry, the TMUA and no regular interview

Imperial's Mathematics BSc asks for Mathematics and Further Mathematics at A*, expects the Test for Mathematics for University Admission (TMUA), and does not currently use interviews as part of its regular admissions process. That last point surprises many applicants who have prepared for a Cambridge or Oxford style interview. This guide is written for families planning 2028 entry. Everything cycle-specific in it was last verified for 2027 entry, so treat it as the best guide to preparation and not as the 2028 requirement.

Official information · last verified for 2027 entry

What Imperial asks for in Mathematics

Taken from Imperial's official Mathematics BSc course page and read on 21 October 2026. For a normal 2028-entry application, made in 2027, every requirement below is last verified for the previous cycle and may change; Imperial's 2028-entry requirements and dates are awaiting publication.

A*A*A to A*A*AA, with Mathematics and Further Mathematics at A*

The minimum A-level standard is A*A*A to A*A*AA, to include an A* in Mathematics, an A* in Further Mathematics and an A in another subject. The typical offer is A*A*A with three A levels and A*A*AA with four, and typical offers can be higher than the minimum. General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted.

Schools without Further Mathematics

Imperial says it can make special cases for students from schools that do not offer Further Mathematics A level and encourages them to apply; it is often guided by TMUA performance. If the school offers Further Mathematics AS but not A level, it expects the student to be taking it.

The IB: 39 points, typical offer 40

The minimum IB standard is 39 points, to include 7 in Mathematics at Higher Level and 6 in another subject at Higher Level, and the typical offer is 40 points. Both IB Mathematics syllabi are accepted at Higher Level, but Analysis and Approaches is preferred.

The TMUA, not the MAT

All applicants should take the Test for Mathematics for University Admission (TMUA). Imperial expects most of its offers to go to applicants who have taken it, and says the Mathematics Admissions Test (MAT) is no longer used.

STEP if the TMUA cannot be taken

For candidates who apply after the last TMUA booking deadline and cannot sit it, conditional offers will typically require at least one Sixth Term Examination Paper (STEP). Typical offers may also include STEP requirements where the TMUA has not been taken.

No regular interview, and no ATAS certificate

Imperial does not currently use interviews as part of its regular admissions process and may consider students for interview only in particular circumstances. An ATAS certificate is not required for this course.

Official sources

Read on 21 October 2026 on Imperial's Mathematics BSc course page, which describes 2027 entry. The 2025 applications-to-places ratio quoted in the guide is history, not a requirement. TMUA sittings and booking windows are cycle-specific and are not stated. The degree structure was not read.

The course

A three-year BSc in the Department of Mathematics

The course is a three-year full-time BSc delivered by Imperial's Department of Mathematics and starts in October of the entry year. Imperial's UCAS code is G100. This guide covers entry only: the content and structure of the degree, and Imperial's other mathematics-related courses, were not read and are not described.

Reading the offer

Further Mathematics is central to the offer

Unlike many science courses, Imperial names Further Mathematics at A* in the minimum standard.

Three A levels or four

With three A levels the typical offer is A*A*A, and with four it is A*A*AA. The minimum range is A*A*A to A*A*AA, and Imperial says typical offers can be higher than the minimum.

If your school does not offer Further Mathematics

Imperial says it can make special cases and encourages applications, and is often guided by TMUA performance. Ask your teacher to say so clearly in the UCAS application. If your school offers only Further Mathematics AS, Imperial expects you to take it.

STEP in an offer

Typical offers may include STEP requirements where the TMUA has not been taken, so a late applicant should expect to prepare for a different kind of paper.

The IB

Imperial's minimum is 39 points including 7 in Higher Level Mathematics and 6 in another Higher Level subject, and the typical offer is 40 points. Both IB Mathematics syllabi are accepted at Higher Level, with Analysis and Approaches preferred.

The TMUA

The test that does the work of the interview

Imperial says all applicants should take the TMUA as part of the application and that it expects most of its offers to go to applicants who have taken it. The TMUA is a computer-based, multiple-choice test that tests mathematical thinking and reasoning. If you apply on or before the last booking deadline you are required to take it. Its sittings and booking windows change each cycle, so they are not stated here: check Imperial's course page and the test provider's key dates.

The interview

Not part of the regular process

Imperial says it does not currently use interviews as part of its regular admissions process. It may consider students for interview where there are mitigating circumstances to investigate or where the applicant's background needs further consideration, and in those cases the conditional offer may change as a result. For most applicants, preparation time is better spent on Further Mathematics and the TMUA than on interview practice.

International applicants

No ATAS certificate for this course

Imperial says an ATAS certificate is not required for students applying for this course. ATAS is a UK government scheme, so check the current rules for your own situation.

Context

How competitive the course has been

Imperial's page shows 14 applications for every place for 2025. That is a historical figure about a past cohort. It is not a requirement and it does not predict any individual result.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Applying for 2028 entry means applying in 2027, under rules Imperial has not yet published for that cycle. Each item below carries one of two labels. Last verified for 2027 entry means Imperial published it for the previous cycle and it may change. Awaiting publication for 2028 entry means Imperial has not yet published it.

Grades, subject rules, the use of the TMUA and the interview policy: last verified for 2027 entry

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Imperial has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Application deadline, TMUA sittings and booking windows: awaiting publication for 2028 entry

Check Imperial's course page and the test provider's key dates for the 2028-entry values when they appear.

What to do now

Confirm that the school offers Further Mathematics, build a sustained plan for the TMUA, and decide early whether STEP is a realistic back-up.

Support

Independent support with course strategy and preparation

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Imperial College London or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor working within one advisory plan. Support is tailored to the student, and no outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Does Imperial interview Mathematics applicants?

Imperial says it does not currently use interviews as part of its regular admissions process, though it may consider students for interview in particular circumstances. That was its wording for 2027 entry.

Is the TMUA compulsory?

Imperial says all applicants should take the TMUA. If you apply on or before the last TMUA booking deadline you are required to take it, and Imperial expects most offers to go to applicants who have taken it.

What A levels does Imperial ask for?

A*A*A to A*A*AA, to include an A* in Mathematics, an A* in Further Mathematics and an A in another subject. This is Imperial's wording for 2027 entry.

Do I need Further Mathematics?

The minimum standard names Further Mathematics at A*. Imperial can make special cases for schools that do not offer it, and is often guided by TMUA performance.

Is the MAT still used?

No. Imperial says the Mathematics Admissions Test (MAT) is no longer used.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Imperial's wording for the 2027 application cycle. Check the course page again when Imperial publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Imperial Mathematics

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether Further Mathematics is available, how they have approached the TMUA, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.