Undergraduate · Penn College of Arts and Sciences

Penn Philosophy: 32 units, logic, ethics and a rule on course levels

Penn does not admit applicants to Philosophy. They apply to the College of Arts and Sciences and declare a major within it. The University Catalog describes the Philosophy BA through concentrations, and this guide reads the General Philosophy plan of study as its worked example. It asks for all courses to be in philosophy, a core of history, logic, theory and ethics, seven electives and level rules that push students into advanced work.

Official information · read 31 October 2026, no entry-year label

What Penn says about Penn Philosophy

Taken from Penn's University Catalog entry for Philosophy, BA: General Philosophy and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, read on 31 October 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Penn's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a school

Penn says you apply to one of four undergraduate schools or a coordinated dual-degree programme. Philosophy sits in the College of Arts and Sciences.

32 course units

The plan of study gives 32 as the minimum total for graduation.

A core of history, logic, theory and ethics

The core covers the history of philosophy, introductory logic, a theoretical course and an ethics course.

A level rule

Major courses must include at least three at the 2000 level or higher, one at 3000 or 5000 level.

The SAT or ACT is required

Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Official sources

Read on 2 November 2026 on Penn's University Catalog entry for Philosophy, BA: General Philosophy and Penn Admissions' Four Schools, Specialized Degree Programs, International Applicants and Testing pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The department's own pages, the course descriptions, deadlines and financial aid were not read and are not stated.

The programme

What the catalogue says the Philosophy major is

The catalogue says philosophy seeks to illuminate fundamental aspects of the world, our knowledge of it and our own nature as rational, purposive and social beings. The General Philosophy concentration asks for a balanced selection from practical and theoretical philosophy and their history. It has a core of history of philosophy, introductory logic, a theoretical course and an ethics course, an additional history course and seven electives, all within philosophy. The honours criteria include a minimum 3.33 GPA in the major.

Is it the right route?

Philosophy beside Cognitive Science and Philosophy, Politics and Economics

Penn describes these as separate schools and programmes, so the choice is made at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Philosophy fits if

you want argument, logic and the history of ideas as the main method.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want mind and computation across fields. Avandy's Penn Cognitive Science guide covers it.

Philosophy, Politics and Economics fits if

you want philosophy tied to policy and choice. Avandy's Penn Philosophy, Politics and Economics guide covers it.

Admission and testing

The College of Arts and Sciences, an SAT or ACT and predicted grades

Penn requires applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores, with a waiver for hardship. It has no explicit course requirements or minimum test score requirements, and it asks schools to provide predicted scores if final exams are not yet available. Philosophy is not a separate application: the application is to the College of Arts and Sciences. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Penn's.

Does formal logic appeal?

Introduction to Logic is in the core.

Which concentration would you pursue?

This guide read only the General Philosophy plan of study; the catalogue lists others.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB?

Penn says applicants must submit scores for either test, with a hardship waiver.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Penn's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Penn's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The curriculum on the Penn catalogue page read on 1 November 2026, which describes itself as a guide for students entering in Fall 2026 and later

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Penn has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any updated curriculum for the 2028 cohort: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Penn for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the catalogue entry and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with the University of Pennsylvania. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Penn Philosophy?

You apply to the College of Arts and Sciences, one of four undergraduate schools. Penn says you do not technically apply to Penn itself.

Must all courses be in philosophy?

For the General Philosophy concentration read for this guide, the catalogue says all courses must be in Philosophy.

Is logic required?

Introduction to Logic is part of the core requirements in the plan of study read.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Penn says applicants must submit scores for the SAT or ACT, with a waiver for hardship.

Does Penn name specific A levels or IB subjects?

Penn says it has no explicit course requirements for admittance.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Penn's wording with no entry-year label. Check Penn's pages again when Penn publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Penn Philosophy

Tell us about the student's curriculum, whether logic and the history of philosophy appeal, how they would meet the level rules and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.