Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale Architecture: a liberal-arts major, not a professional degree

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and Architecture is a bachelor of arts major they can choose once enrolled. Yale's catalogue is explicit that it is a humanistic, liberal-arts major and not an accredited professional degree, with a Design concentration and a History, Theory, Criticism and Urbanism concentration. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to the major.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale Architecture

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Architecture and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after arrival

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors. The pages read describe no separate application to Architecture.

A B.A., not a professional degree

The catalogue says it is a liberal arts major in Yale College and not an accredited professional degree.

Two concentrations

Students base their studies in Design or in History, Theory, Criticism of Architecture, and Urbanism.

Introductory courses come first

ARCH 1001, 2000 and 2600 are required before declaring intent to major, with fifteen course credits in all.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Architecture and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the major is

Yale's catalogue says the purpose of the undergraduate major is to include the study of architecture in a liberal arts education, drawing on the broader environment of the Yale School of Architecture, with work in design, in history, theory and criticism, and in urbanism. Students take introductory courses, a core of four courses including junior-year studios, and base their work in the Design concentration or the History, Theory, Criticism and Urbanism concentration. This guide does not list the full requirements.

Is it the right major?

The Yale Architecture major beside professional routes

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

The Yale major fits if

you want architecture inside a liberal arts education, with design or history and theory as your base.

A professional architecture degree fits if

you want an accredited professional qualification. The catalogue says the Yale major is not one.

Another Yale major fits if

your interest lies elsewhere. Avandy's other Yale guides cover engineering and science majors.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements, and the admissions pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. The major is chosen after admission, not applied for separately. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Do you want a liberal arts education with architecture, or accreditation?

The catalogue is explicit that the major is not an accredited professional degree.

Would you rather design or study architecture's history and theory?

The two concentrations differ.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Architecture entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale Architecture?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

Is the Yale Architecture major an accredited professional degree?

No. The catalogue says that as a liberal arts major in Yale College it is not an accredited professional degree.

Do I need an art portfolio to apply?

The pages read describe no portfolio requirement for the College application, and this guide states none.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale Architecture

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their design portfolio and history subjects, how they weigh a liberal-arts major against professional training and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.