Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale Neuroscience: from molecules to minds, chosen after arrival

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and Neuroscience is a major they can choose once enrolled. Yale's catalogue describes the effort to understand how the brain produces the mind and behaviour as spanning molecules to minds, with a B.A. and a research-heavy B.S. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to the major and sets it beside Cognitive Science.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale Neuroscience

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Neuroscience and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after arrival

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors. The pages read describe no separate application to Neuroscience.

A broad, interdisciplinary effort

Yale says neuroscience spans from molecules to minds.

At least 18.5 credits

The major includes prerequisites, 15 lecture or seminar courses and one laboratory.

Placement in biology

Students with strong biology preparation may place out of individual biology modules through placement exams.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Neuroscience and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the major is

Yale's catalogue says neuroscience aims to understand how the brain produces the mind and behaviour, with the goal of advancing human understanding, improving physical and mental health and optimising performance. It spans biology, chemistry and physics at the molecular and cellular end to the study of cognition. The major needs at least 18.5 credits including prerequisites, 15 lecture or seminar courses and one laboratory, and the B.S. adds two credits of empirical research. This guide does not list individual courses.

Is it the right major?

Neuroscience beside Cognitive Science and Computer Science and Psychology

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Neuroscience fits if

you want the biology and chemistry of the brain, with a laboratory and optional empirical research.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want a mix of psychology, linguistics, philosophy and computation. Avandy's Yale Cognitive Science guide covers it.

Computer Science and Psychology fits if

you want computing and psychology. Avandy's Yale Computer Science and Psychology guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements, and the admissions pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. The major is chosen after admission, not applied for separately. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Are biology and chemistry comfortable foundations?

Most MCDB courses require prior biological preparation.

Do you want laboratory research as a B.S. student?

The B.S. requires two credits of empirical research.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Neuroscience entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale Neuroscience?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

Can strong biology preparation shorten the introductory sequence?

The catalogue says students with strong preparation, such as a 5 on the Biology AP test or equivalent, may place out of individual biology modules by passing placement exams.

Who directs the major?

The catalogue lists directors of undergraduate studies from MCDB and Psychology.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale Neuroscience

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their biology, chemistry and mathematics, how they weigh neuroscience against cognitive science and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.