Undergraduate · Yale College

Yale Philosophy: three curriculum groups, twelve courses and a psychology concentration

Yale College admits students without a declared major, and Philosophy is a major they can choose once enrolled. Yale's catalogue says it prepares students to reflect critically and creatively on the nature of things, the limits of understanding and value, divides the curriculum into three groups and requires twelve term courses, with a psychology concentration for those interested in both fields. This guide makes no claim of a separate application to Philosophy.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Yale says about Yale Philosophy

Taken from the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Philosophy and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Yale's pages for the 2028-entry details.

A major chosen after arrival

Yale says every student begins undeclared and has until the end of sophomore year to choose from over 80 majors. The pages read describe no separate application to Philosophy.

Three curriculum groups

History of philosophy, metaphysics and epistemology, and ethics and value theory.

Twelve term courses

Including the prerequisites and the senior requirement.

A psychology concentration

Seven philosophy courses and five psychology courses, for students interested in both.

The SAT or ACT is required

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test; international applicants meet the same requirements.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Yale College Programs of Study 2026–2027 entry for Philosophy and Yale Undergraduate Admissions' Majors, Standardized Testing and International pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. Yale's department website, the course listings behind each course code, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the admissions pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the catalogue says the Philosophy major is

Yale's catalogue says the Philosophy major prepares students to reflect critically and creatively on the nature of things, the scope and limits of human understanding and the principles of value and right action, encouraging depth in thinking, rigour in argument and clarity in writing and speaking. The prerequisite is two introductory or intermediate courses. The standard major requires twelve term courses across history of philosophy, metaphysics and epistemology, and ethics and value theory, and a psychology concentration combines seven philosophy and five psychology courses.

Is it the right major?

Philosophy beside Ethics, Politics, and Economics and Cognitive Science

Yale describes these as separate majors, so the choice is made after admission. Avandy's comparison is general.

Philosophy fits if

you want rigorous argument across history, knowledge and value.

Ethics, Politics, and Economics fits if

you want philosophy joined to politics and economics. Avandy's Yale Ethics, Politics, and Economics guide covers it.

Cognitive Science fits if

you want the mind studied across fields. Avandy's Yale Cognitive Science guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A Yale College application and the SAT or ACT

Yale requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores and has no preference between them. International applicants complete the same application with the same requirements, and the admissions pages read do not mention A-levels or the IB by name. The major is chosen after admission, not applied for separately. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Yale's.

Do you want a broad survey or a pairing with psychology?

The standard major and the psychology concentration differ in their course mix.

Do you like writing and argument?

The catalogue stresses rigour in argument and clarity in writing.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Yale's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Yale's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Yale has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Yale for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the Philosophy entry in Yale's Programs of Study and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Yale College or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Yale College. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Can I apply directly to Yale Philosophy?

The pages read describe admission to Yale College. Students begin undeclared and choose a major by the end of sophomore year.

Is there a prerequisite for the Philosophy major?

Two introductory or intermediate philosophy courses for the standard major; two such courses in philosophy or psychology for the psychology concentration.

Can I take philosophy in my first year?

Courses numbered with the initial digit 0 are first-year seminars and have no prerequisites.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Yes. Yale's testing policy requires scores from either test.

Does Yale name A-levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The admissions pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Yale's wording with no entry-year label. Check Yale's pages again when Yale publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Yale Philosophy

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their reading and argument, their interest in psychology or logic, and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.