Undergraduate · Cornell Human Ecology and CALS

Cornell Nutritional Sciences: the science of food, through Human Ecology or CALS

Cornell applicants apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, and Nutritional Sciences is offered through the College of Human Ecology or CALS. The division describes the science of food and our relationship to it, from how bodies process nutrients to food access and nutrition education. This guide sets out what the page says and how it differs from Food Science.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Nutritional Sciences

Taken from the Division of Nutritional Sciences' Nutritional Sciences major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Nutritional Sciences under CALS and Human Ecology.

Two colleges

Human Ecology or CALS, with the same major requirements.

A science foundation

Chemistry, biology, organic chemistry, biochemistry, physiology and maths.

Social science too

Introductory social-science courses and policy-relevant research.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on the Division of Nutritional Sciences' Nutritional Sciences major page, Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The major's curriculum pages, course descriptions, college admission requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the college and department pages say the major is

The division's page says the interdisciplinary Nutritional Sciences programme teaches the science of food and our relationship to it, including how bodies process nutrients and how food access and nutrition education affect communities, and to interpret nutrition research critically to develop solutions, advocate for policy and make a difference. The foundation includes introductory chemistry and biology, organic chemistry, biochemistry, physiology, maths and social sciences, plus at least three advanced nutritional sciences courses. The major requirements are the same across Human Ecology and CALS. This guide does not list individual courses.

Is it the right major?

Nutritional Sciences beside Food Science and Human Biology, Health, and Society

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Nutritional Sciences fits if

you want nutrition and health, from molecules to communities.

Food Science fits if

you want food chemistry, processing and safety. Avandy's Cornell Food Science guide covers it.

Human Biology, Health, and Society fits if

you want a broader biology and health major. Avandy's Cornell HBHS guide covers it.

Admission and testing

A college application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application; the pages read list Nutritional Sciences under CALS and Human Ecology. Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Which college would you apply through?

Human Ecology or CALS.

Do you want nutrition research and policy?

The page names both.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the major page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Nutritional Sciences in?

Cornell Admissions lists it under CALS and Human Ecology.

Do the colleges differ in major requirements?

The page says the major requirements are the same; distribution requirements vary.

How does it differ from Food Science?

Cornell lists Food Science under CALS only, as a separate major.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Nutritional Sciences

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their biology, chemistry and social-science subjects, their interest in nutrition and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.