Undergraduate · Cornell CALS

Cornell Food Science: a CALS major with three concentrations

Cornell applicants apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, and Food Science is a major in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Cornell's department describes food chemistry, microbiology, processing and safety across three concentrations, Science, Business and Safety, while Nutritional Sciences and Biological Sciences are listed as separate majors in other colleges as well. This guide shows how the major is built, which college it sits in and what Cornell says about testing.

Official information · read 1 November 2026, no entry-year label

What Cornell says about Cornell Food Science

Taken from Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' Food Science undergraduate page, read on 1 November 2026. The pages carry no entry-year label, so for a 2028-entry application every statement below is evidence for the previous cycle and may change; check Cornell's pages for the 2028-entry details.

Applied to through a college

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools. Cornell Admissions lists Food Science under CALS.

Three concentrations

Students choose between Science, Business and Safety. Science is described as the most popular.

Foundation sciences first

The first two years build a background in math, chemistry, and physical and biological sciences, including organic chemistry, microbiology, calculus and physics.

Applied food technology later

The last two years apply the sciences to manufacturing, sensory evaluation, storage, distribution and safety.

The SAT or ACT is required

Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Official sources

Read on 1 November 2026 on Cornell Admissions' Majors, First-Year Applicants and Standardized Testing Policy pages and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' Food Science undergraduate page, which describes 2027 entry. The pages carry no entry-year label. The Food Science curriculum pages, the course descriptions, the three concentration pages, the CALS admissions requirements, deadlines and financial aid were not read, and the pages do not mention A-levels or the IB by name and are not stated.

The major

What the department says Food Science is

The department says the programme prepares students for careers in the food industry, government and academia, and for graduate study. The major is unusual in offering three concentrations. The Science concentration blends fundamental science with applied food science and includes Applied Food Chemistry. The Business concentration covers management of food processing, preservation, distribution and marketing. The Safety concentration covers physical, chemical and biological hazards. Students are strongly encouraged to do research or a food-company internship. This guide does not describe the curriculum pages, which it did not read.

Is it the right major?

Food Science, Nutritional Sciences or Biological Sciences

Cornell lists these as separate majors, and the colleges differ, so the choice starts at application. Avandy's comparison is general.

Food Science fits if

you are drawn to what happens to food between the farm and the plate: chemistry, microbiology, processing and safety.

Nutritional Sciences fits if

your interest is nutrition and health. Cornell Admissions lists it under both CALS and Human Ecology.

Biological Sciences fits if

you want the broad life sciences. Cornell Admissions lists it under both CALS and A&S.

Admission and testing

A CALS application and the SAT or ACT

Cornell says you apply directly to one of its colleges or schools, so the college is part of the application. Cornell has reinstituted standardized testing and requires first-year applicants to submit SAT or ACT scores. The pages read do not mention A levels or the IB by name, and Cornell says all students must show a strong command of English. This guide states no score.

A decision framework

Three questions before you commit

This is Avandy's own framework, not Cornell's.

Which concentration suits you: Science, Business or Safety?

The department describes each separately.

Are chemistry, microbiology and calculus comfortable foundations?

The department lists them among required courses.

Can you plan the SAT or ACT with your A levels or IB?

Cornell requires one of them for first-year applicants.

Planning for 2028 entry

Planning for 2028 entry: what carries over and what is awaiting publication

Cornell's pages carry no entry-year label, so nothing on them is confirmed for 2028 entry. Use them to understand the structure of the application, then check Cornell's own pages for the 2028-entry details.

The requirements and descriptions on the pages read on 1 November 2026, which carry no entry-year label

These are the best guide to what to prepare. Cornell has not confirmed them for 2028 entry.

Deadlines, fees, financial aid and any department prerequisites not quoted here: not stated

This guide has not read them. Check Cornell for the values that apply to your application year.

What to do now

Read the department's undergraduate page and plan the SAT or ACT alongside your A levels or IB.

Support

Independent support with planning your own application

Avandy provides independent academic and admissions support. It is not affiliated with Cornell University or any of its colleges or departments. Preparation sits within the Avandy Trinity Advisory Model: a Strategic Admissions Consultant, a PhD-level Academic Mentor and a Subject-specific Tutor, working to the actual requirements of each course. Support here is limited to understanding the requirements and planning the applicant's own work; Avandy does not write or edit essays, does not submit any materials and has no partnership with Cornell University. No outcome is promised.

Questions

Questions applicants ask

Which Cornell college is Food Science in?

Cornell Admissions lists Food Science under the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS).

What are the concentrations?

The department says students choose between Science, Business and Safety.

Is it the same as Nutritional Sciences?

No. Cornell lists Nutritional Sciences as a separate major, under both CALS and Human Ecology.

Do I need the SAT or ACT?

Cornell says first-year applicants are required to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Does Cornell name A levels or the IB on these pages?

No. The pages read do not mention them by name.

Are these the rules for 2028 entry?

No. They are Cornell's wording with no entry-year label. Check Cornell's pages again when Cornell publishes its 2028-entry requirements.

Students and families

Talk to us about Cornell Food Science

Tell us about the student's curriculum, their chemistry, biology and mathematics, how they weigh food science against nutrition or biology and their SAT or ACT plan, the universities on the list, and the intended year of entry. A senior adviser will review the academic profile before recommending how to prepare.